Fandom

Project ANCUR

"Pass" v. "Having Passed" Ruling

2,408pages on
this wiki
Add New Page
Comments0 Share

When the Runner passes a piece of ice, s/he is considered to have passed the other ice outside of the passed piece of ice. False Echo must be used when the passing of the intended ice actually occurs.

QuestionEdit

Suppose the Corp has a rezzed Caprice Nisei in a remote with multiple ICE. For example:

Caprice Nisei < Ice Wall < Hive (unrezzed)

If the runner passes an Ice Wall on R&D and then Copycats in to the Ice wall in the above remote:

Q1: Would Caprice Nisei's effect trigger?

Q2: Would the runner be able to fire False Echo targeting Hive?

AnswerEdit

Tybb-sly A1. Yes. By passing a piece of ice, you are considered to have previously passed all of the other ice outside of that one, even if you did not encounter them.

A2. You cannot use False Echo against the Hive. While you have passed the Hive, the action of passing it never actually occurred, and so False Echo is not able to trigger.

These might seem like contradictions, but there is a difference between the state of having passed ice, and the action of passing them.

ImplicationsEdit

Passing a piece of ice is a specific game effect that occurs when an encounter with that ice ends without the run having ended. This is distinct from the state of a piece of ice having been passed, which describes all ice protecting the server outside of the Runner's current location in the run.

SourceEdit

Posted to Board Game Geek by Chuck Spiekerman on June 3, 2014

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.