Fandom

Project ANCUR

Access Phase

2,407pages on
this wiki
Add New Page
Comments0 Share

The Access Phase is the third and final phase of a run. Only by reaching this phase and deciding to continue the run does the Runner finally gain access to the server and any cards inside.

The Access Phase is part 4 of the timing structure of a run, and it follows these steps:

4 The Runner approaches the attacked serverEdit

4.1 Paid Ability WindowEdit

4.2 Jacking OutEdit

Page 18, Column 1, Paragraph(s) 5, Core Rule Book
After the Runner has passed all of the ice protecting the attacked server, he has one final opportunity to jack out.

4.3 Paid Ability Window, non-ice cards can be rezzedEdit

Page 18, Column 1, Paragraph(s) 5, Core Rule Book
If he chooses to continue, the Corporation has one final opportunity to rez cards.

4.4 The run is considered successfulEdit

Page 18, Column 1, Paragraph(s) 5, Core Rule Book
After rezzing cards, the run is considered to be successful[…]

4.5 Access cardsEdit

Once the Run has finally been declared successful, the Runner proceeds to access cards in the attacked server. Ice is never accessed because it is installed protecting a server and not in a server.

Page 18, Column 1, Paragraph(s) 5-10, Core Rule Book
[…] and the Runner accesses the Corporation's cards by looking at them. The type of server attacked determines the degree and method of access, and the Runner must access cards according to the following rules:
  • R&D: The Runner accesses the top card of R&D, and any upgrades in its root. Unless the Runner steals, trashes, or is forced by a card's text to reveal the card, he does not show cards accessed from R&D to the Corporation.
  • HQ: The Runner accesses one random card from HQ and any upgrades in its root. Any cards the Runner does not steal or trash return to HQ.
  • Archives: The Runner accesses all cards in Archives and any upgrades in its root. The Runner turns all cards faceup before accessing them, and does not need to keep them in order. The Runner steals all agendas in Archives and cannot trash cards that are already in Archives. After accessing Archives, all cards in Archives return to Archives faceup.
  • Remote Server: The Runner accesses all cards in the server.

Note: Installed ice is not in a server and is never accessed.

Accessing ArchivesEdit

Before accessing cards in Archives, the Runner first turns all facedown cards in Archives faceup. Then s/he accesses all the cards in Archives in the order s/he chooses.

Page 2, Column 1, Paragraph(s) 7, FAQ
When accessing cards in Archives, the Runner turns all cards faceup in Archives before accessing them. Then he accesses and resolves individual cards one by one, in any order he wants.

However, the Runner does not turn the facedown cards faceup if using an access replacement effect.

Page 2, Column 1, Paragraph(s) 8, FAQ
If the Runner uses a replacement effect, then he does not turn any facedown cards faceup.

Accessing HQ: FAQ 1.1.35Edit

From the FAQ. Also numbers 1.2.12, 1.3.12, 1.4.12, and 1.5.11

Which card(s) the Runner accesses and in what order is public information.

Page 9, Column 2, Paragraph(s) 5, FAQ
Does the Corp know what cards the Runner accesses from HQ?
Yes. The Corp should know what cards are accessed and in what order.

Ending the RunEdit

The run ends once the Runner finishes accessing any and all cards.

Page 18, Column 2, Paragraph(s) 7, Core Rule Book
After a Runner finishes accessing cards, the run ends.

Accessing Multiple CardsEdit

The Runner always gets to decide the order s/he wishes to access cards. In the case of accessing a central server, this means the Runner may split accesses between the server itself and its root, one at a time, until s/he is done accessing.

Page 18, Column 2, Paragraph(s) 3, Core Rule Book
When accessing multiple cards, the Runner accesses them one at a time in any order he likes. For example, the Runner may access a card from HQ, then an upgrade installed in the root of HQ, and then another card from HQ, if he has the ability to do so.

When accessing multiple cards, the Runner must fully resolve his/her access to each card before moving on to access the next card.

Page 18, Column 2, Paragraph(s) 5, Core Rule Book
The Runner must fully resolve his access to a card before accessing the next card. If the Runner scores an agenda that gives him seven or more points, he immediately wins the game, even if he would otherwise access more cards.

It is not until after the Runner has accessed all the required cards that any cards not stolen or trashed are returned to their previous states.

Page 18, Column 2, Paragraph(s) 6, Core Rule Book
After the Runner has accessed all required cards, he returns any cards not stolen or trashed to their original play states. For example, an unrezzed card in a remote server returns facedown to that server, and a card accessed from HQ returns to HQ.

Accessing Multiple Cards from HQEdit

Cards in HQ are accessed one at a time and are not returned to HQ until after the Runner is completely done accessing.

Page 2, Column 1, Paragraph(s) 9, FAQ
When the Runner accesses multiple cards from HQ, the cards are accessed one at a time, and do not return to HQ until the Runner is finished accessing.

Accessing Multiple Cards from R&DEdit

Whenever the Runner access additional cards from R&D, s/he must access those cards in the order they are already in.

Page 18, Column 2, Paragraph(s) 4, Core Rule Book
When accessing multiple cards from R&D, the Runner must draw them in order from the top of the deck, and must return any cards not scored or trashed in reverse order, so as to preserve their positions in R&D.
Page 2, Column 1, Paragraph(s) 10, FAQ
The Runner can intersperse accessing cards from R&D with any upgrades installed installed in the root of R&D. The Runner cannot choose to access the cards in R&D out of order.

Related RulingsEdit

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.