FANDOM


This is the second in a series of unofficial FAQs released with each new data pack. Below are rulings from Damon Stone, the head designer, regarding some of the cards in Business First.

EMP DeviceEdit

Can the Corp rez any pieces of ice after the Runner uses EMP Device if the Corp has already rezzed ice during the run?

Ilogos Yes, EMP Device only restricts how much ice the Corp can rez from the time it is used until the end of the run.


After the Runner uses EMP Device, the Corp rezzes Howler. Can Howler’s subroutine still install a bioroid behind itself? Is the Howler still trashed?

Ilogos Howler installs the ice but does not rez it. Howler is not trashed, as it says “if you do” install and rez the ice.
Note: The original ruling in this UFAQ for this question was reversed by the Fear the Masses UFAQ.

Can the Runner use a second EMP Device during a run after having already used one in order to trigger incidental abilities, such as Geist and Tech Trader?

Ilogos No, as the Corp is already precluded from rezzing more than one piece of ice for the remainder of the run, the second EMP Device would not change the game state and thus cannot be used.

DiwanEdit

Can Diwan increase the install cost of an upgrade installed in the root of a central server?

Ilogos No. Cards installed in the root of a central server are not in that central server.

NetChipEdit

There are four NetChips installed, and one of them is hosting an Endless Hunger. A different NetChip is trashed. Is the Endless Hunger trashed as a result?

Ilogos Yes, as the hosting restriction applies at all times. Cards can host any other game object by default, but abilities can define limitations on the capability to host.


There are four NetChips installed, and one of them is hosting an Endless Hunger. At the start of the Runner’s turn, Dr. Lovegood blanks the text of that NetChip. Is the Endless Hunger trashed as a result?

Ilogos No. Because cards can host any other game object by default, NetChip losing the restriction causes it to have no hosting restrictions, and the Endless Hunger remains. The Runner may, however, be forced to trash Endless Hunger (and/or other programs) because it will count against their MU until the end of the turn.

Corporate ScandalEdit

Can the additional bad publicity from Corporate Scandal be removed?

Ilogos No. The Corp is considered to have an additional bad publicity, even when they have none, but it does not exist for the purposes of being manipulated (such as removing it).


The Corp has 0 bad publicity when the Runner plays Corporate Scandal. The Corp plays The All Seeing-I. Can the Runner remove the additional bad publicity from Corporate Scandal to prevent all resources from being trashed?

Ilogos No. The additional bad publicity that the Corp is considered to have cannot be removed, so the Runner does not have the option to remove it in order to prevent the trash effect.


The Corp has 2 bad publicity when the Runner plays Corporate Scandal. The Corp installs an Exposé, advances it twice, and uses its ability. How many bad publicity tokens does the Corp have after using Exposé? Later, the Corp scores an agenda. How many bad publicity tokens does the Corp have then?

Ilogos The additional bad publicity that the Corp is considered to have cannot be removed. When the Runner plays Corporate Scandal, the Corp has 2 bad publicity tokens and is considered to have an additional bad publicity. After using Exposé, the Corp has no bad publicity tokens but is still considered to have an additional bad publicity. After scoring an agenda, the Corp still has no bad publicity tokens and is no longer considered to have any either.

Populist RallyEdit

Can Populist Rally be played if the Corp has 0 clicks to spend on their next turn?

Ilogos No. As the Corp cannot have fewer than 0 clicks to spend on their next turn, playing Populist Rally would not cause a change in game state and thus cannot be played.

Lakshmi SmartfabricsEdit

Does Lakshmi Smartfabrics get a power counter when it is rezzed?

Ilogos Yes. “When you rez” triggers at the end of the rez action, so Lakshmi Smartfabrics is active and can see its own rez action.


If the Runner trashes Lakshmi Smartfabrics after the Corp uses its ability, can the Runner steal copies of the revealed agenda?

Ilogos No. Once triggered, the ability exists independently of its source.

Product RecallEdit

Do the gained credits include modifications to the trash cost, such as those from Industrial Genomics?

Ilogos Yes. Modifiers are always taken into account whenever a value is queried from the game state.

Pālanā FoodsEdit

The Runner has Safety First and Drug Dealer installed. What is the exact timing of the two draw effects, and how many times does Pālanā Foods gain 1Cr?

Ilogos Conditional abilities that trigger when the Runner’s turn ends do so at Runner 2.3, and abilities that trigger when the Corp’s turn begins do so at Corp 1.2. Pālanā Foods will gain a credit for both Safety First and for Drug Dealer, assuming each was the first time the Runner drew a card.

HarvesterEdit

Does the Runner have to discard before or after drawing 3 cards from Harvester?

Ilogos Resolve the text of each subroutine in the order it appears. First the Runner draws 3 cards, then they must discard to their maximum hand size.


If the Runner does not draw 3 cards due to Harvester’s subroutine effect, must they still discard cards?

Ilogos Yes. Each effect is separate from the other. “Then” does not imply any conditionality to the discard effect, it only indicates the order of resolution.


Does the Runner flatline if they have a negative hand size when Harvester’s subroutine resolves?

Ilogos No. The Runner only loses the game from having a negative hand size at the end of their turn. If the Runner’s hand size is negative when Harvester’s subroutine resolves, they just discard all the cards in their grip.

Disposable HQEdit

In what order are the cards added to the bottom of R&D with Disposable HQ?

Ilogos In the order of the Corp’s choice. CBI Raid specifies the choice because it is a Runner card effect; Disposable HQ implicitly gives the choice to the Corp due to being a Corp card effect.


Does Disposable HQ trigger from Archives?

Ilogos Yes, “when accessed” abilities trigger from any server, whether or not the card is active, unless the ability specifically says otherwise.

New ConstructionEdit

Can the Corp install ice with New Construction’s ability?

Ilogos No, ice is installed protecting a server, not in a server.

Mumbad Construction Co.Edit

Does moving an advancement token to a Public agenda trigger its ability?

Ilogos No. Neither placing nor moving advancement tokens is considered the same as advancing a card.

PAD FactoryEdit

Can PAD Factory place tokens on non-installed cards?

Ilogos No. The Corp cannot choose a card that is not installed to place the advancement token on.


Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.