|The next piece of ice the Runner encounters during this run has +2 strength. Do 3 net damage unless the Runner breaks all subroutines on that piece of ice.|
|"You ever get that feeling like you're shark food? Pay attention to that feeling."|
-Ji "Noise" Reilly
|Page 5, Column 2, Paragraph(s) 12-13, FAQ
|If the Runner jacks out immediately after encountering a Chum and not breaking its subroutine, the Runner does not take any damage.
Chum deals its net damage the first time either of the following occur during an encounter with the next piece of ice:
- a subroutine resolves
- the encounter/run ends (includes bypassing) before all subroutines are broken
- FAQ 1.0.18 - Chum's strength boost is a constant effect and should be added up with all other constant strength modifiers.
- FAQ 1.5.34 - If the Runner uses Femme Fatale to bypass the next piece of ice encountered after a Chum, the Runner takes damage from Chum, even if that piece of ice has zero subroutines (e.g. Komainu).
- "The next piece of ice the Runner encounters" refers to the next time the Runner encounters a piece of ice, not literally the next piece of ice for the rest of the run.:Ruling
- ↑ "Next" Ice Ruling
what about a solitary chum over a twins. If I have two chum in hand, does the third encounter have 8 str or 6?
"Next" just means the next time, so it would have 6 strength each time.
Ad blocker interference detected!
Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers
Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.