FANDOM


This is the thirteenth in a series of unofficial FAQs released with each new data pack. Below are rulings from the ANCUR staff regarding some of the cards in Daedalus Complex, as approved by the lead designer Michael Boggs.

Pushing the EnvelopeEdit

1. If the Runner draws cards so they have 3 or more in grip during the run initiated by Pushing the Envelope, do installed icebreakers lose the +2 strength?

Ancurprofile No. The ability of Pushing the Envelope takes effect when the event is played.

2. If the Runner installs another icebreaker during a run initiated by Pushing the Envelope (e.g. Paperclip from heap), does it have +2 strength?

Ancurprofile No. Pushing the Envelope’s effect occurs when the event is played, so only icebreakers installed at that time will get the strength boost.

MawEdit

3. Does Maw trigger when the Runner accesses but does not trash an upgrade installed in the root of Archives?

Ancurprofile Yes. Cards in the root of Archives are not considered in Archives.

4. If the Runner uses Salsettes Slums to remove a trashed card from the game, does Maw trigger?

Ancurprofile No, Maw does not trigger. In order to use Salsette Slums, the Runner must trash the accessed card.

5. How does Maw work if the Runner accesses more than one card from HQ during a single access step (e.g. through Legwork)?

Ancurprofile The first of the accesses from HQ that the Runner does not steal or trash triggers Maw. Before continuing accessing cards, the Corp trashes a card from HQ at the same time, which can include a card already accessed during this access step. As a best practice, resolve HQ accesses by placing all the cards in HQ facedown on the table. Thus, the Runner can flip cards faceup to access them, as well as roll a die or use some other method to select a random card to perform another type of effect (such as trashing with Maw).

Bio-Modeled NetworkEdit

6. Can the Runner prevent all of the first instance of net damage in a turn using both Net Shield and Bio-Modeled Network?

Ancurprofile Yes. The Runner can trash Bio-Modeled Network, preventing all but the first damage, then pay 1Credit using Net Shield to prevent that damage.

NEXT Wave 2Edit

7. Can the Corp use Bifrost Array or 24/7 News Cycle to trigger the ability on NEXT Wave 2?

Ancurprofile No, NEXT Wave 2 does not have an explicit “when scored” ability on it because its ability has an additional condition.

KakugoEdit

8. Does Kakugo trigger if it is trashed during an encounter?

Ancurprofile No. The encounter ends immediately when Kakugo is trashed, but then it is no longer active and thus its ability cannot trigger.

SYNC BREEdit

9. How long does the effect of the second trace on SYNC BRE last?

Ancurprofile Designer's Note: Technically, as SYNC BRE is written this effect lasts until the end of the game, but it should read: "Trace2 - if successful, the Runner accesses 1 fewer card whenever he or she accesses cards for the remainder of the run."

10. If SYNC BRE’s second trace resolves during a run on Archives, how will the access step be affected?

Ancurprofile Just like normal, the Corp flips all facedown cards in Archives faceup, then the Runner accesses cards in the order of their choice. The Runner will not be able to access the last card, so in practice this means the Runner chooses a card to not access.

11. If SYNC BRE’s second trace resolves during a run on a remote server, how will the access step be affected? What if there are multiple cards installed in the server?

Ancurprofile Just like normal, the Runner chooses the order they will access the cards installed in the remote server. If there is only one card installed in the remote server, then the Runner does not access that card. If there are multiple cards installed in the remote server, the Runner chooses and accesses one card from the remote server at a time. The Runner will not be able to access the last card, so in practice this means the Runner chooses a card to not access.

12. If SYNC BRE’s second trace resolves during a run on a central server that has upgrades installed in its root, how will the access step be affected?

Ancurprofile Just like normal, the Runner chooses the order of accesses from among accessing the central server and accessing the root. The Runner picks one at a time, but will not be able to access the last card. For example, if the Runner plays Maker’s Eye and there is a Hokusai Grid installed in the root of R&D, the Runner can either:
  • Access three cards in a row from R&D, not accessing Hokusai Grid
  • Access two cards from R&D, access Hokusai, and not access a third card from R&D
  • Access one card from R&D, access Hokusai, access a second card from R&D, and not access a third card from R&D
  • etc.

13. If SYNC BRE’s second trace resolves during a run initiated by Information Sifting, how is the access step resolved?

Ancurprofile Just like normal, the Corp separates HQ into two piles, the Runner chooses one of the piles, and then the Runner accesses one card at a time from the chosen pile. The Runner will not be able to access the last card in the pile.

Jemison AstronauticsEdit

14. Can the Corp place the advancement tokens from the ability on Jemison Astronautics onto multiple cards?

Ancurprofile No, all the advancement tokens must be placed on the same card.

15. If the Corp, playing as Jemison Astronautics, forfeits Hostile Takeover hosting Political Graffiti, how many advancement tokens do they place on a card?

Ancurprofile The Corp places 1 advancement token on a card, 1 for the ability and no additional tokens because the Hostile Takeover was worth 0 agenda points when it was forfeited.

16. If the Corp forfeits a card that becomes an agenda, such as “Clones are Not People”, how many advancement tokens can Jemison place on a card?

Ancurprofile The Corp places 2 advancement tokens on the card, 1 for the ability and an additional 1 for the agenda point “Clones are Not People” was worth.

Quarantine SystemEdit

17. The Corp, playing Jemison Astronautics, uses Quarantine System to forfeit a Hostile Takeover. What is the exact order of operations, and how much discount does the Corp receive for rezzing an Asteroid Belt?

Ancurprofile The trigger for Jemison Astronautics is the forfeiting of the agenda. As this is a chain reaction, Jemison must resolve before Quarantine System, so the Corp places 2 advancement tokens on a card, which can be placed on Asteroid Belt. Then, Quarantine System resolves and rezzes one piece of ice at a time. If the Asteroid Belt receives the advancement tokens from Jemison, then the total rez cost of the Asteroid Belt is 1: 9 printed rez cost, 6 discounted for having 2 advancement tokens, and 2 discounted for the printed agenda point on the forfeited Hostile Takeover.

18. If the Corp forfeits a card that becomes an agenda for Quarantine System, such as “Clones are Not People”, how much is the discount for rezzing the ice?

Ancurprofile The rez cost of the three pieces of ice will not be lowered by any amount, as cards that are turned into agendas do not have any agenda points printed on them.


Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.