This is the fifteenth in a series of unofficial FAQs released with each new data pack. Below are rulings from the ANCUR staff regarding some of the cards in Earth's Scion, as approved by the lead designer Michael Boggs.
How long does the strength boost on Berserker last?
Like with typical strength boosts from icebreakers, Berserker resets at the end of each encounter.
If the Runner encounters a Galahad, how much strength does Berserker gain?
If it is currently the Runner’s turn, Berserker’s ability must trigger before Galahad’s ability, so Berserker gains 1 strength (for the “End the run.” subroutine) before Galahad gains any additional subroutines. If it is currently the Corp’s turn, Galahad must go first, so it can gain subroutines before Berserker checks the number of subroutines and gains strength.
If two subroutines resolve during an encounter with a sentry and the Runner has Persephone installed, how many cards does each player trash from the top of their decks?
If the Runner wishes to use Persephone, they must trash 1 card from the top of their stack. This will trash the top 2 cards of R&D.
Can the Runner use Aeneas Informant when accessing a rezzed card?
Yes. Revealing the card is part of the effect and not a condition for using the ability.
If the Runner uses Salsette Slums to remove a trashed card from the game, does Aeneas informant trigger?
No. In order to use Salsette Slums, the Runner must trash the accessed card.
If the Runner has both Maw and Aeneas Informant installed, what happens if the first card accessed is not trashed or stolen? What if the card trashed by Maw is that already accessed card?
Both Aeneas Informant and Maw meet their trigger at the same time, so the Runner chooses the order in which to trigger and resolve them. If the Runner chooses to trigger Maw first, and the card that was just accessed is randomly chosen to be trashed, then the Runner still gains 1Cr.
If the Runner removes a program hosted on Dhegdheer from the game as the cost for using Rosetta 2.0, by how much is the install cost of the new program lowered?
Dhegdheer’s cost reduction only applies at the time the program hosted on it is installed. The install cost of the new program will be lowered by the printed cost of the trashed program.
When can the Runner even use the ability gained by Adjusted Matrix?
The Runner can use this ability if the host icebreaker meets the strength of the encountered ICE. Treat the card as if it said “Host icebreaker gains AI and "You may spend [click] to break any subroutine on a piece of ice currently being encountered." Designer’s Note: Errata for this card will be issued in the next FAQ.
What happens if the Runner installs an Adjusted Matrix on an icebreaker hosted on another card with a non-AI icebreaker restriction (such as Dinosaurus)?
The icebreaker hosting Adjusted Matrix gains AI, which makes it no longer satisfy the hosting requirement on Dinosaurus. The icebreaker is immediately trashed, then so is the Adjusted Matrix.
What happens if the Runner installs an Adjusted Matrix on an icebreaker hosting Dedicated Processor?
Similar to Parasite, Dedicated Processor’s restriction is only considered at the time of its installation. If the host icebreaker later gains AI, nothing happens.
If Dedicated Processor is hosted on an icebreaker that is hosted on Baba Yaga, does Baba Yaga gain “2Cr: +4 strength”?
Can the Runner use Inversificator to swap the passed piece of ice with an ice in Archives?
No. Unless specified otherwise, only installed cards can be chosen by effects.
The Runner plays Prey and runs on a remote server protected by Turing. If the Runner then uses Inversificator to break all subroutines on Turing and swaps it with a piece of ice protecting R&D, how many cards must the Runner trash in order to trash the Turing?
The number of cards the Runner must discard for Prey is not determined until Prey’s ability resolves. Because Inversificator and Prey meet their trigger conditions simultaneously, the Runner can choose to trigger Inversificator first and then use Prey to trash 2 cards for Turing’s new strength. If the Runner chooses Prey first, then they must trash 5 cards to trash the Turing; the Runner will then not be able to use Inversificator because the Turing is no longer installed and cannot be swapped with another piece of ice.
This answer was reversed by the Reign and Reverie UFAQ. The new answer is:
After the Runner uses Inversificator to swap the Turing with another piece of ice, the Runner is no longer passing the Turing. Thus, Prey's trigger condition is no longer valid, and the ability fails to trigger.
If the Runner has both Dadiana Chacon and Order of Sol installed, can the Runner keep Dadiana from trashing herself by triggering Order of Sol first?
Bioroid Work CrewEdit
What does “immediately after playing an operation” on Bioroid Work Crew mean? Does the Corp trigger this ability in the next paid ability window after resolving an operation, or does it have special timing?
Treat Bioroid Work Crew as if it read “Use this ability only during the next paid ability window after playing and resolving an operation.” Designer’s Note: Errata for this card will be issued in the next FAQ.
Does Bioroid Work Crew need to be rezzed when the Corp plays the operation, or can they rez and use it in the same window?
Bioroid Work Crew does not need to be rezzed when the operation is played or resolved. The Corp can rez Bioroid Work Crew, or even use any other paid ability window effects, before using Bioroid Work Crew, as long as this all occurs during the first paid ability window that opens immediately following the resolution of the operation.
Can the Corp use more than one Bioroid Work Crew in the same paid ability window after playing an operation?
Can the Corp use Bioroid Work Crew after playing a terminal operation?
Yes. Although the paid ability window that normally immediately follows each action is skipped by terminal operations, the paid ability window during the Corp’s discard phase is the “next” paid ability window that opens after having played and resolved the operation in question.
Can the Corp use Bioroid Work Crew after playing an operation through a card ability, such as Bryan Stinson?
Can the Corp use AgInfusion on an already rezzed approached ice?
No. There is no opportunity to rez that ice, so that opportunity cannot be replaced.
If the Corp does not have enough credits to rez the approached piece of ice, can they still use AgInfusion’s ability with that ice?
Yes. AgInfusion is only looking for whether or not the Corp has the opportunity to rez the approached piece of ice. It doesn’t check the ability to pay the rez cost of the particular piece of ice being approached.
If the Corp cannot rez the approached piece of ice due to a card effect (e.g. Blackmail or DDoS), can they still use AgInfusion’s ability with that ice?
No. The Corp must be able to rez the ice in order to replace rezzing it with AgInfusion’s ability.
If the Corp uses AgInfusion to redirect the Runner to a different server, what happens if the outermost ice protecting the new server is unrezzed?
If the outermost piece of ice is unrezzed, the Runner passes it and proceeds as normal for a run on the new server. There is no opportunity to rez the ice because the approach phase is skipped.
If the Corp uses AgInfusion to redirect the Runner to a different server, what happens if there is no ice protecting the new server? Can the Runner jack out?
The Runner has passed all the ice protecting the new server, so the next step is to approach the server (Step 5 of the timing structure of a run). This means the Runner will have the normal opportunity to jack out at step 5.2.
If the Corp uses AgInfusion to redirect the Runner to a different server with a rezzed piece of ice, can the Runner jack out before encountering that ice?
No. The Runner is encountering the ice, and there is no opportunity to jack out at that point, barring exceptions from other card abilities such as Nero Severn and Recon.
Does AgInfusion’s ability end the paid ability window at Step 2.3? If the Runner is moved to a server with Tollbooth as its outermost piece of ice, can the Runner use Clone Chip to install Femme Fatale before Tollbooth’s “when encountered” ability triggers?
Yes, AgInfusion ends the paid ability window at Step 2.3. AgInfusion moves the Runner to Step 3 of the run if the outermost piece of ice protecting the new server is rezzed, or to Step 4 of the run if there is no ice protecting the new server or the outermost piece of ice protecting the new server is unrezzed. Thus the Runner has no opportunity to use paid abilities before a "when encountered" ability meets its trigger condition.
Can the Runner still steal an agenda if they prevent some or all of the net damage incurred by Ben Musashi?
If the Runner prevents even a single point of the net damage incurred by Ben Musashi, then they have not paid the additional cost to steal the agenda and therefore do not steal it.
Can the Runner avoid the tag from Authenticator and still bypass it?
If the Runner avoids the tag, then they have not paid the cost to bypass Authenticator and therefore do not bypass it.
If Jesminder Sareen has not previously avoided a tag this run and encounters Authenticator, can she bypass it?
No. Her ability is mandatory, so she cannot pay the cost to bypass because the tag will be avoided.
If the Runner is tagged and breaks more than one subroutine with a single ability (e.g. with Berserker), how many credits does the Corp gain?
The Corp gains 2Cr for each subroutine broken.
Does Audacity count itself toward the required number of cards in HQ?