FANDOM


Card Errata


Top - Card Errata - Rules Clarifications - Frequently Asked Questions

See also the Cards with errata category.

This section contains the official errata that have been made on individual cards or sets in Android: Netrunner. The card entries are ordered by the set in which the specified card was printed, with the most recent set in front. Errata on any individual card applies to all reprinted versions of that card.

There is currently no card errata.

FAQ 1.0|Page 2, Column 1, Paragraphs 1-2


Rules Clarifications


Top - Card Errata - Rules Clarifications - Frequently Asked Questions
1 When accessed abilities 3 Rezzing Cards 5 Recurring Credits 7 Encountering Ice
2 Subroutines 4 Bypass 6 Accessing Archives

This section contains the official rule clarifications and enhancements for Android: Netrunner. Used in conjunction with the core set rulebook, these clarifications and enhancements should enable a player to navigate through the most complex situations that can arise while playing the game.

FAQ 1.0|Page 2, Column 1, Paragraph 3

When accessed abilities

A card with an ability that triggers when the card is accessed does not have to be active in order for the ability to trigger. When resolving such an ability, just follow the instructions on the card.

FAQ 1.0|Page 2, Column 1, Paragraph 4

Subroutines

Unless specified otherwise, the Corporation always chooses the effects of a subroutine, when necessary.

FAQ 1.0|Page 2, Column 1, Paragraph 6

Rezzing cards

The Corporation may rez non-ice cards after the Runner approaches any piece of ice.

FAQ 1.0|Page 2, Column 1, Paragraph 8

"Bypass"

When an effect allows the Runner to "bypass" a piece of ice, he immediately passes that ice and continues the run. Any subroutines on the ice bypassed are not broken. Bypassing prevents any unresolved conditional abilities that met their trigger condition when the ice was encountered from resolving.

FAQ 1.0|Page 2, Column 1, Paragraph 9

Recurring Credits

Recurring credits are placed on a card when the card becomes active, and can be used immediately. Recurring credits do not stack; a player replaces recurring credits up to the number listed on the card when his or her turn begins.

FAQ 1.0|Page 2, Column 1, Paragraph 10

Accessing Archives

When accessing cards in Archives, the Runner turns all cards faceup in Archives before accessing them. Then he accesses and resolves individual cards one by one, in any order he wants.

FAQ 1.0|Page 2, Column 2, Paragraph 1

Encountering Ice

When the Runner encounters a piece of ice, he must resolve any abilities triggered by the encounter before he can trigger paid abilities or break subroutines.

FAQ 1.0|Page 2, Column 2, Paragraph 2


Frequently Asked Questions


Top - Card Errata - Rules Clarifications - Frequently Asked Questions

See also the Cards with FAQ category.

This section answers some of the more frequently asked questions that arise while playing Android: Netrunner.

FAQ 1.0|Page 2, Column 2, Paragraph 3


Where is an upgrade installed in a remote server?
An upgrade is installed in a remote server in the same position as an agenda or asset. The Runner should not be able to tell what type of card is installed in a remote server by its position. This is different than installing an upgrade in a central server, where it is always installed in the root.

FAQ 1.0|Page 2, Column 2, Paragraph 4


Can the Runner use multiple icebreakers on a single piece of ice?
Yes, although there are few situations where this is beneficial. But the Runner cannot use one icebreaker's strength to allow another icebreaker to interact with the ice.

FAQ 1.0|Page 2, Column 2, Paragraph 5


Can the Runner install a new console if he already has one in play?
The limit of 1 console per player prevents the Runner from installing a second console, even if the Runner wishes to trash the first.

FAQ 1.0|Page 2, Column 2, Paragraph 6


Does Femme Fatale need to match strength of the ice it bypasses?
No. Femme Fatale can bypass a piece of ice regardless of strength. Bypassing is not considered to be interacting with the ice.

FAQ 1.0|Page 2, Column 2, Paragraph 7


Can the Runner install Parasite on a piece of ice but host it on Djinn?
No. A card or counter can only be hosted in one place at a time. Parasite has the restriction that it must be installed on a piece of ice, and therefore it cannot also be hosted by Djinn.

FAQ 1.0|Page 3, Column 1, Paragraph 1


If the Runner steals an agenda from Jinteki using the core set identity, but has no cards in hand, who wins?
The Runner wins the game. Whenever a player has 7 or more agenda points in his score area, the game immediately ends. The game ending takes precedence over any conditional ability that triggers when an agenda is stolen.

FAQ 1.0|Page 3, Column 1, Paragraph 2


Does the Runner take damage if he jacks out after encountering a Chum and not breaking its subroutine?
No. The Runner has not encountered another piece of ice, and so the subroutine on Chum has no effect.

FAQ 1.0|Page 3, Column 1, Paragraph 3


The rules state that "The Runner cannot jack out while approaching the first piece of ice during a run." Can the Runner jack out after the subroutine on Cell Portal resolves and he is approaching the outermost piece of ice protecting the server?
Yes. "The first piece of ice" refers to the first time a piece of ice is approached during a run, and not the ice itself. The Runner approaches the ice and has the opportunity to jack out.

FAQ 1.0|Page 3, Column 1, Paragraph 4


If the Runner has a Medium installed with 3 virus counters on it, how many cards must he access from R&D? If he can choose how many he accesses, at what point in time does he choose?
The Runner may choose how many additional cards he is accessing, but this decision occurs before he accesses the first card (at the beginning of step 4.5 of a run). With 3 virus counters on Medium, the Runner must access at least one card and may access up to 3.

FAQ 1.0|Page 3, Column 1, Paragraph 5


Can the Runner use Datasucker to reduce the strength of a piece of ice before an ability on that ice triggers when it is encountered (such as a Tollbooth)?
No. Tollbooth ends the run unless the Runner pays 3Credit before the Runner has the opportunity to use a paid ability. See step 3 of a run.

FAQ 1.0|Page 3, Column 1, Paragraph 6


What happens if a piece of ice is hosting Parasite but is then derezzed?
Parasite continues to collect virus tokens, but the hosting ice has no strength while derezzed and therefore cannot be trashed by Parasite unless it is derezzed again.

FAQ 1.0|Page 3, Column 1, Paragraph 7


If the Runner takes 4 brain damage from a single source, how many brain damage tokens would he get?
The Runner takes 1 brain damage token for each point of brain damage he suffers, even if it was suffered all at once. The Runner would get 4 tokens to mark the brain damage he has suffered.

FAQ 1.0|Page 3, Column 2, Paragraph 1


Can the Runner combine multiple effects to make a run, like using both Sneakdoor Beta and Account Siphon?
No. Using each of those cards is an action, and a player cannot take an action during the resolution of another action.

FAQ 1.0|Page 3, Column 2, Paragraph 2


How much damage does Net Shield prevent?
Net Shield prevents a single point of net damage. It does not prevent all net damage from a single source.

FAQ 1.0|Page 3, Column 2, Paragraph 3


If the Runner has less than 3Credit when encountering Tollbooth, does he lose any credits he has or does the run end without the Runner paying anything?
The run ends without the Runner paying anything. If he cannot pay 3 credits, then the run ends. He must pay 3 credits if he is able to do so, even by spending temporary credits (such as bad publicity credits).

FAQ 1.0|Page 3, Column 2, Paragraph 4


When a piece of ice allows the Runner to break subroutines on it by spending clicks, does the Runner have to match the strength of the ice before using this ability?
No. The Runner only has to match the strength of a piece of ice with an icebreaker that he is using to interact with the ice. This ability allows the Runner to break subroutines by spending clicks without using any icebreakers.

FAQ 1.0|Page 3, Column 2, Paragraph 5


When the Runner installs Djinn, can he move other programs already installed onto it?
No. When the Runner installs a program, he has the choice of installing it directly into his rig or on Djinn. He cannot move programs onto Djinn at a later point.

FAQ 1.0|Page 3, Column 2, Paragraph 6


There is a Parasite with 1 virus counter hosted on a rezzed Enigma, and the Runner has an Ice Carver installed. If the Runner encounters Chum, does not break its subroutine, and then continues the run and encounters Enigma, is the Enigma trashed?
No. Chum's ability is a required conditional effect that creates a constant +2 strength effect. When the Runner encounters the ice, both modifiers (Chum at +2 and Ice Carver at -1) apply at the same time and the strength of Enigma would be 2.

FAQ 1.0|Page 3, Column 2, Paragraph 7


When resolving the ability on an Aggressive Secretary with 2 advancement tokens, can the Corporation trash the same program twice? Does the Corporation decide to trash a program, resolve it, and then trash another? What if the Runner has a Sacrificial Construct installed?
Aggressive Secretary trashes the programs at the same time. The Corporation chooses both programs to trash, and then the programs are trashed. The Corporation can choose the same program more than once. However, trash prevention effects (such as Sacrificial Construct) can prevent a chosen program from being trashed, regardless of how many times it was chosen.

FAQ 1.0|Page 4, Column 1, Paragraph 1


If the Runner has two copies of Bank Job installed, can he use both of them as the result of a run on a single remote server?
The Runner cannot use two Bank Jobs on the same run. When the run is successful, he or she may either access cards or use the ability of a Bank Job. Using Bank Job replaces accessing cards, so once the Runner triggers one of them the other is no longer able to trigger its own replacement ability.

FAQ 1.0|Page 4, Column 1, Paragraph 2


Can the Runner use Wyrm to lower the strength of any ice, at any time?
The Runner can only use Wyrm to lower the strength of a currently encountered piece of ice, and only if Wyrm is of equal or higher strength than that ice.

FAQ 1.0|Page 4, Column 1, Paragraph 3


Does a "When the Runner encounters..." ability on a piece of ice resolve before or after the Runner can bypass that ice with Femme Fatale?
If two cards have the same trigger condition (such as the Runner encountering the ice), then the effects are simultaneous and the player whose turn it is resolves his first in the order of his choice. So if the Runner bypasses the ice, then the ice's ability does not resolve.

FAQ 1.0|Page 4, Column 1, Paragraph 4


If a piece of ice in front of Archives trashes Sneakdoor Beta during a run initiated by the program, does a successful run on Archives still allow the Runner to access HQ?
Yes. The run is initiated under a specific condition: that if successful it is treated as a run on HQ. This effect lasts until the end of the run, regardless of whether or not Sneakdoor Beta is trashed.

FAQ 1.0|Page 4, Column 1, Paragraph 5


Can the Corporation play Aggressive Negotiation if he scores an agenda during step 1.1 of his draw phase?
Yes. Everything listed under the Corporation's draw phase, including step 1.1, is part of the Corporation's turn.

FAQ 1.0|Page 4, Column 1, Paragraph 6


Can the Corporation rez an installed Akitaro Watanabe in reaction to the Runner playing Forged Activation Orders?
No. When played, the effect of Forged Activation Orders is immediately resolved unless prevented or avoided. Akitaro Watanabe would have to already be rezzed in order to have an affect.

FAQ 1.0|Page 4, Column 1, Paragraph 7



Top - Card Errata - Rules Clarifications - Frequently Asked Questions

View Original: File:FAQ 1.0.pdf


Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.