This section contains the official errata that have been made on individual cards or sets in Android: Netrunner. The card entries are ordered by the set in which the specified card was printed, with the most recent set in front. Errata on any individual card applies to all reprinted versions of that card.
This section contains the official rule clarifications and enhancements for Android: Netrunner. Used in conjunction with the core set rulebook, these clarifications and enhancements should enable a player to navigate through the most complex situations that can arise while playing the game.
When an effect allows the Runner to "bypass" a piece of ice, he immediately passes that ice and continues the run. Any subroutines on the ice bypassed are not broken. Bypassing prevents any unresolved conditional abilities that met their trigger condition when the ice was encountered from resolving.
Recurring credits are placed on a card when the card becomes active, and can be used immediately. Recurring credits do not stack; a player replaces recurring credits up to the number listed on the card when his or her turn begins.
"Hosting" is the result of placing a card, counter, or token on top of a card, creating a relationship between the host card and what is hosted. If a card allows other cards to be hosted on it, those cards must be hosted on the card when they are installed, unless a card says otherwise.
Hosted counters or tokens can be spent without affecting their host. If a trigger cost requires one or more hosted counters or tokens, those counters or tokens are "spent" by being returned to the token bank from the card the ability appears on.
If a host is trashed, all cards, counters, and tokens hosted on it are also trashed. This cannot be prevented.
The state of hosting is distinct (but not exclusive from) the state of installing. Most cards are hosted on another card when they are installed. If a card is hosted but not installed, the card is inactive.
The Crop cannot choose to destroy a server when installing cards; at least one card must be installed for other cards in or protecting that server to be trashed.
If there are no cards installed in or protecting a remote sever, then the sever immediately ceases to exist. If a server ceases to exist during a run, the run immediately ends. Unless the run has passed step 4.4 of the timing structure of a run, it is not considered to be successful or unsuccessful.
If the Runner steals an agenda from Jinteki using the core set identity, but has no cards in hand, who wins? The Runner wins the game. Whenever a player has 7 or more agenda points in his score area, the game immediately ends. The game ending takes precedence over any conditional ability that triggers when an agenda is stolen.
If the Runner has a Medium installed with 3 virus counters on it, how many cards must he access from R&D? If he can choose how many he accesses, at what point in time does he choose? The Runner may choose how many additional cards he is accessing, but this decision occurs before he accesses the first card (at the beginning of step 4.5 of a run). With 3 virus counters on Medium, the Runner must access at least one card and may access up to 3.
If the Runner has less than 3 when encountering Tollbooth, does he lose any credits he has or does the run end without the Runner paying anything? The run ends without the Runner paying anything. If he cannot pay 3 credits, then the run ends. He must pay 3 credits if he is able to do so, even by spending temporary credits (such as bad publicity credits).
Can the Runner use Datasucker to reduce the strength of a piece of ice before an ability on that ice triggers when it is encountered (such as a Tollbooth)? No. Tollbooth ends the run unless the Runner pays 3 before the Runner has the opportunity to use a paid ability. See step 3 of a run.
Can the Runner install Parasite on a piece of ice but host it on Djinn? No. A card or counter can only be hosted in one place at a time. Parasite has the restriction that it must be installed on a piece of ice, and therefore it cannot also be hosted by Djinn.
What happens if a piece of ice is hosting Parasite but is then derezzed? Parasite continues to collect virus tokens, but the hosting ice has no strength while derezzed and therefore cannot be trashed by Parasite unless it is derezzed again.
Can the Runner combine multiple effects to make a run, like using both Sneakdoor Beta and Account Siphon? No. Using each of those cards is an action, and a player cannot take an action during the resolution of another action.
Does the Runner take damage if he jacks out after encountering a Chum and not breaking its subroutine? No. The Runner has not encountered another piece of ice, and so the subroutine on Chum has no effect.
The rules state that "The Runner cannot jack out while approaching the first piece of ice during a run." Can the Runner jack out after the subroutine on Cell Portal resolves and he is approaching the outermost piece of ice protecting the server? Yes. "The first piece of ice" refers to the first time a piece of ice is approached during a run, and not the ice itself. The Runner approaches the ice and has the opportunity to jack out.
When a piece of ice allows the Runner to break subroutines on it by spending clicks, does the Runner have to match the strength of the ice before using this ability? No. The Runner only has to match the strength of a piece of ice with an icebreaker that he is using to interact with the ice. This ability allows the Runner to break subroutines by spending clicks without using any icebreakers.
When the Runner installs Djinn, can he move other programs already installed onto it? No. When the Runner installs a program, he has the choice of installing it directly into his rig or on Djinn. He cannot move programs onto Djinn at a later point.
There is a Parasite with 1 virus counter hosted on a rezzed Enigma, and the Runner has an Ice Carver installed. If the Runner encounters Chum, does not break its subroutine, and then continues the run and encounters Enigma, is the Enigma trashed? No. Chum's ability is a required conditional effect that creates a constant +2 strength effect. When the Runner encounters the ice, both modifiers (Chum at +2 and Ice Carver at -1) apply at the same time and the strength of Enigma would be 2.
When resolving the ability on an Aggressive Secretary with 2 advancement tokens, can the Corporation trash the same program twice? Does the Corporation decide to trash a program, resolve it, and then trash another? What if the Runner has a Sacrificial Construct installed? Aggressive Secretary trashes the programs at the same time. The Corporation chooses both programs to trash, and then the programs are trashed. The Corporation can choose the same program more than once. However, trash prevention effects (such as Sacrificial Construct) can prevent a chosen program from being trashed, regardless of how many times it was chosen.
If the Runner has two copies of Bank Job installed, can he use both of them as the result of a run on a single remote server? The Runner cannot use two Bank Jobs on the same run. When the run is successful, he or she may either access cards or use the ability of a Bank Job. Using Bank Job replaces accessing cards, so once the Runner triggers one of them the other is no longer able to trigger its own replacement ability.
Can the Runner use Wyrm to lower the strength of any ice, at any time? The Runner can only use Wyrm to lower the strength of a currently encountered piece of ice, and only if Wyrm is of equal or higher strength than that ice.
Does a "When the Runner encounters..." ability on a piece of ice resolve before or after the Runner can bypass that ice with Femme Fatale? If two cards have the same trigger condition (such as the Runner encountering the ice), then the effects are simultaneous and the player whose turn it is resolves his first in the order of his choice. So if the Runner bypasses the ice, then the ice's ability does not resolve.
If a piece of ice in front of Archives trashes Sneakdoor Beta during a run initiated by the program, does a successful run on Archives still allow the Runner to access HQ? Yes. The run is initiated under a specific condition: that if successful it is treated as a run on HQ. This effect lasts until the end of the run, regardless of whether or not Sneakdoor Beta is trashed.
Can the Corporation play Aggressive Negotiation if he scores an agenda during step 1.1 of his draw phase? Yes. Everything listed under the Corporation's draw phase, including step 1.1, is part of the Corporation's turn.
Can the Corporation rez an installed Akitaro Watanabe in reaction to the Runner playing Forged Activation Orders? No. When played, the effect of Forged Activation Orders is immediately resolved unless prevented or avoided. Akitaro Watanabe would have to already be rezzed in order to have an affect.
If the Runner takes 4 brain damage from a single source, how many brain damage tokens would he get? The Runner takes 1 brain damage token for each point of brain damage he suffers, even if it was suffered all at once. The Runner would get 4 tokens to mark the brain damage he has suffered.
Where is an upgrade installed in a remote server? An upgrade is installed in a remote server in the same position as an agenda or asset. The Runner should not be able to tell what type of card is installed in a remote server by its position. This is different than installing an upgrade in a central server, where it is always installed in the root.
Can the Runner use multiple icebreakers on a single piece of ice? Yes, although there are few situations where this is beneficial. But the Runner cannot use one icebreaker's strength to allow another icebreaker to interact with the ice.
Can the Runner install a new console if he already has one in play? The limit of 1 console per player prevents the Runner from installing a second console, even if the Runner wishes to trash the first.
When a card is trashed directly from R&D, such as from the ability on Noise, is it placed faceup or facedown in the Archives? Cards trashed from R&D by card effects should be placed facedown in the Archives?
If the Runner plays Account Siphon, but chooses to access cards from HQ instead of draining credits, does the Runner gain 2 tags? No. The "then" clause on Account Siphon only resolves if the Runner forces the Corp to lose credits.
If the Corp scores Breaking News and then razzes Archer through a card effect, forfeiting the Breaking news, does the Runner keep the 2 tags? Yes. The conditional ability on Breaking News has not yet triggered, and it will not trigger when the turn ends since the card is no longer active.
How many cards can the Runner trash with Aesop's Pawnshop at the beginning of his turn? The Runner can trash only a single card other than Aesop's Pawnshop, as a player can only trigger a conditional ability once per trigger condition.
If the Corp rezzes TMI, and it is then derezzed by its trace being unsuccessful, can the Corp rez it again before the Runner passes TMI? Yes. Timing structure of a run 2.3 is a window that allows the approached piece of ice to be rezzed. There is no limit to the number of times a Corp can rez an approached piece of ice if it is derezzed during this window.
Can e3 Feedback Implants be used to break a subroutine by triggering off of itself, meaning that the Runner can break all subroutines on Janus 1.0 by spending and 3. Yes. e3 Feedback Implants triggers itself, so the Runner can break all subroutines on Janus 1.0 for a single and 3.
Can the Runner decline to pay 5 to steal an agenda that is accessed in a server with Red Herrings? The rules say that the Runner cannot decline to steal an agenda. Red Herrings requires the payment of an additional cost, and the Runner can choose to not pay this cost. While the Runner cannot decline to steal an agenda, he an decline to pay the additional cost, and therefore the agenda is not stolen. This also applies to Fetal AI.
Can the Runner trash an agenda with Demolition Run instead of stealing it? The Runner can trash an agenda with Demolition Run (or Imp) instead of stealing it. Card text has priority over the rules, and Demolition Run says the card can be trashed even if it cannot normally be trashed.
Can the Runner trash an accessed card with Demolition Run before any "when accessed" conditional abilities resolve? No. The card must be accessed before Imp, Demolition Run, or any other similar effect can be used to trash it, just as if the Runner was paying its trash cost.
Can the Runner install a program if he has no more available memory units? Yes. The Runner can trash any number of already installed programs before installing a new one (and must if there is not enough space for the new program). So if the Runner has no free MU, he can initiate an install action, trash any number of programs to free up MU, and then install the new program.
The Runner chooses an unrezzed Archer as the target of a Forged Activation Orders. Can the Corp choose to rez Archer, but then decline to pay the additional cost of forfeiting the agenda? No. If the Corp chooses to rez Archer, then as part of this choice he must pay 4 and forfeit an agenda. Otherwise, the ice is trashed.
When the Corp plays Sunset, does he need to indicate which pieces of ice moved where? Or can the Corp shuffle the ice around? The ice should be rearranged in such a way that the Runner knows which pieces of ice moved where.
How does Personal Workshop work? The Runner may use the first ability on Personal Workshop to host a program or a piece of hardware on it. Cards hosted by this ability are not installed, and therefore are inactive.
The Runner can pay to remove a power counter from a card hosted on Personal Workshop as a paid ability. A program installed from Personal Workshop follows all the normal install rules; you must trash already installed programs to make room for a new one, if necessary. When there are no power counters on a program or a piece of hardware that has a play restriction on it that cannot be met (such as a Parasite with no rezzed ice to be hosted on or a console when there is already a console installed), that program or piece of hardware is trashed instead of being installed.
If Personal Workshop is trashed, all cards hosted on it are trashed and all counters on those cards are removed.
If the Corp forfeits a Mandatory Upgrades on his turn, when is the additional click lost? The Corp loses the additional click immediately. Mandatory Upgrades gives the Corp a click as long as the agenda remains active, and the Corp loses that click if it is inactive. The Corp cannot choose to spend the additional click before the forfeit, except as part of his last action (at which point it has already been spent, and there is nothing left for the Corp to lose). Each player should keep a running total of each click that is available for them to spend, rather than look at clicks individually.
If the Runner does not break the subroutine on Chum, and then the next piece of ice encountered is a Woodcutter with no advancement tokens, does the Runner take 3 net damage. No. Since no subroutines exist on Woodcutter, there is nothing to trigger Chum's conditional ability and no damage is dealt. So while the Runner did not break any subroutines, Chum cannot find any unbroken subroutines and has not effect.