FANDOM


Top - Card Errata - Rules Clarifications - Frequently Asked Questions


Card Errata


Top - Card Errata - Rules Clarifications - Card Clarifications - Frequently Asked Questions

See also the Cards with errata category.

There is currently no card errata.

FAQ 1.2|Page 2, Column 1, Paragraphs 1


Rules Clarifications


Top - Card Errata - Rules Clarifications - Card Clarifications - Frequently Asked Questions
1 When accessed abilities 6 Recurring Credits 11 Trashing as a Cost 15 "All"
2 Subroutines 7 Accessing Archives 12 Destruction of Servers 16 Search
3 Rezzing Cards 8 Accessing Cards from HQ 13 Memory Cost 17 "Normally be Trashed"
4 "Bypass" 9 Uninstalled 14 "Limit 1 console per player." 18 Infinite Loops
5 Encountering Ice 10 Hosting

This section contains the official rule clarifications and enhancements for Android: Netrunner. Used in conjunction with the core set rulebook, these clarifications and enhancements should enable a player to navigate through the most complex situations that can arise while playing the game.

FAQ 1.2|Page 2, Column 1, Paragraph 2

When accessed abilities

A card with an ability that triggers when the card is accessed does not have to be active in order for the ability to trigger. When resolving such an ability, just follow the instructions on the card.

FAQ 1.2|Page 2, Column 1, Paragraph 3

Subroutines

Unless specified otherwise, the Corporation always chooses the effects of a subroutine, when necessary.

FAQ 1.2|Page 2, Column 1, Paragraph 5

Rezzing cards

The Corporation may rez non-ice cards after the Runner approaches any piece of ice.

FAQ 1.2|Page 2, Column 1, Paragraph 7

"Bypass"

When an effect allows the Runner to "bypass" a piece of ice, he immediately passes that ice and continues the run. Any subroutines on the ice bypassed are not broken. Bypassing prevents any unresolved conditional abilities that met their trigger condition when the ice was encountered from resolving.

FAQ 1.2|Page 2, Column 1, Paragraph 8

Encountering Ice

When the Runner encounters a piece of ice, he must resolve any abilities triggered by the encounter before he can trigger paid abilities or break subroutines.

FAQ 1.2|Page 2, Column 1, Paragraph 10

Recurring Credits

Recurring credits are placed on a card when the card becomes active, and can be used immediately. Recurring credits do not stack; a player replaces recurring credits up to the number listed on the card when his or her turn begins. This occurs at step 1.2 of the Runner's turn, before any conditional abilities can be triggered. Recurring credits are only ever replaced up to their current value, not removed.

FAQ 1.2|Page 2, Column 2, Paragraph 1

Accessing Archives

When accessing cards in Archives, the Runner turns all cards faceup in Archives before accessing them. Then he accesses and resolves individual cards one by one, in any order he wants.

FAQ 1.2|Page 2, Column 2, Paragraph 2

Accessing Multiple Cards from HQ

When the Runner accesses multiple cards from HQ, the cards are accessed one at a time, and do not return to HQ until the Runner is finished accessing.

FAQ 1.2|Page 2, Column 2, Paragraph 3

Uninstalled

Anytime an installed card enters HQ, R&D, Archives, or the Runner's grip, stack, or heap, the card has been "uninstalled."

FAQ 1.2|Page 2, Column 2, Paragraph 4

Hosting

"Hosting" is the result of placing a card, counter, or token on top of a card, creating a relationship between the host card and what is hosted. If a card allows other cards to be hosted on it, those cards must be hosted on the card when they are installed, unless a card says otherwise.

Hosted counters or tokens can be spent without affecting their host. If a trigger cost requires one or more hosted counters or tokens, those counters or tokens are "spent" by being returned to the token bank from the card the ability appears on.

If a host is trashed or uninstalled, all cards, counters, and tokens hosted on it are also trashed. This cannot be prevented. If a host Corp card is derezzed, all cards, counters, and tokens hosted no it remain hosted.

The state of hosting is distinct (but not exclusive from) the state of installing. Most cards are hosted on another card when they are installed. If a card is hosted but not installed, the card is inactive.

FAQ 1.2|Page 2, Column 2, Paragraph 6-9

Trashing as a Cost

If the cost of a paid ability requires a card to be trashed, then preventing that card from being trashed prevents the cost from being paid and the paid ability does not resolve.

FAQ 1.2|Page 2, Column 2, Paragraph 10

Destruction of Servers

The Crop cannot choose to destroy a server when installing cards; at least one card must be installed for other cards in or protecting that server to be trashed.

If there are no cards installed in or protecting a remote sever, then the sever immediately ceases to exist. If a server ceases to exist during a run, the run immediately ends. Unless the run has passed step 4.4 of the timing structure of a run, it is not considered to be successful or unsuccessful.

FAQ 1.2|Page 3, Column 1, Paragraphs 1-2

Memory Cost

For the purposes of card abilities, a program's memory cost is not considered an additional cost.

FAQ 1.2|Page 3, Column 1, Paragraph 3

"Limit 1 console per player."

This restriction refers only to active consoles. A player can have multiple copies of a console in his deck, as well as multiple consoles.

FAQ 1.2|Page 3, Column 1, Paragraph 5

"All"

The word "all" includes the number zero.

FAQ 1.2|Page 3, Column 2, Paragraph 1

Search

If a player is searching for a card, he must find the card(s), if able. If a player is unable to fulfill the condition of the search, then nothing happens, but the deck is always reshuffled.

FAQ 1.2|Page 3, Column 2, Paragraph 3

"Normally be Trashed"

Trashing cards that "cannot normally trashed" only refers to trashing cards that do not have a trash cost.

FAQ 1.2|Page 3, Column 2, Paragraph 4

Infinite Loops

If an infinite loop is created, the player responsible for the loop must choose a number. The loop instantaneously resolves that many times, and then ends. The Runner is always responsible for ending a loop that occurs during a run by jacking out, unless a card ability prevents that from occurring. If so, then it is the Corp's responsibility to end the loop by letting the Runner through.

FAQ 1.2|Page 3, Column 2, Paragraph 5


Card Clarifications


Top - Card Errata - Rules Clarifications - Card Clarifications - Frequently Asked Questions

See also the Cards with clarifications category.

This section addresses rules interactions with regard to specific cards.

FAQ 1.2|Page 4, Column 1, Paragraph 1

Andromeda

  • When the Runner mulligans with Andromeda, he draws another starting hand of 9 cards.
FAQ 1.2|Page 4, Column 1, Paragraph 2

Aesop's Pawnshop

  • Aesop's Pawnshop can only trash a single card each turn.
FAQ 1.2|Page 4, Column 1, Paragraph 3

Aggressive Negotiation

  • Aggressive Negotiation can be played if the Corp scores an agenda during step 1.1 of his draw phase.
FAQ 1.2|Page 4, Column 1, Paragraph 4

Account Siphon

  • The Runner can choose to not use the ability on Account Siphon when the run is successful. If he does, he does not take any tags.
  • If the Runner ends up running on another server than HQ, the "If successful…" ability on Account Siphon cannot be triggered.
FAQ 1.2|Page 4, Column 2, Paragraphs 1-2

Aggressive Secretary

  • The programs are trashed at the same time.
  • The Corporation can choose to trash the same program more than once, but any prevention effect would stop both of the effects from resolving.
FAQ 1.2|Page 4, Column 2, Paragraphs 3-4

Archer

  • If the Corp has an overadvanced Braintrust scored and rezzes Archer, forfeiting it, Archer gains the discounted rez cost.
FAQ 1.2|Page 4, Column 2, Paragraph 5

Bank Job

  • The Runner cannot use two Bank Jobs on the same run. When the run is successful, he or she may either access cards or use the ability of a Bank Job. Using Bank Job replaces accessing cards, so once the Runner triggers one of them the other is no longer able to trigger its own replacement ability.
  • The Runner can take credits from Bank Job if he made a successful run on an empty server.
FAQ 1.2|Page 5, Column 1, Paragraphs 1-2

Demolition Run

  • The Runner can trash an agenda accessed with Demolition Run, instead of stealing it.
FAQ 1.2|Page 5, Column 1, Paragraph 3

Dinosaurus

  • If there is an icebreaker already installed on Dinosaurus, the Runner can install a different icebreaker onto Dinosaurus, trashing the previously installed icebreaker.
  • If the Runner has no free MU but a Dinosaurus that is not currently hosting an icebreaker, he can install an icebreaker on Dinosaurus without trashing a program. Declaring that you are hosting it on Dinosaurus as part of the install action, and so the memory cost of the program does not need to be taken into account.
FAQ 1.2|Page 5, Column 1, Paragraphs 4-5

Chum

  • If the Runner jacks out immediately after encountering a Chum and not breaking its subroutine, the Runner does not take any damage.
  • Chum deals its net damage the first time either of the following occur during an encounter with the next piece of ice:
1) a subroutine resolves
2) the run ends
FAQ 1.2|Page 5, Column 2, Paragraphs 1-2

Disrupter

  • Disrupter cannot be used once the Corp has bid during a trace attempt. It must be used when the trace being initiated, and it prevents the entire trace before re-initiating it.
FAQ 1.2|Page 5, Column 2, Paragraph 3

Djinn

  • The Runner cannot move other installed programs to Djinn when it is installed.
  • When the Runner installs a program, he has the choice of installing it directly into his rig or on Djinn. He cannot move programs onto Djinn at a later point.
FAQ 1.2|Page 6, Column 1, Paragraphs 1-2

False Lead

  • If False Lead is forfeited and the Runner cannot lose 2 clicks, then he loses no clicks.
FAQ 1.2|Page 6, Column 1, Paragraph 3

Femme Fatale

  • Femme Fatale does not need to match the strength of a piece of ice in order to bypass it.
  • The Runner can spend the credit from Cyberfeeder to pay for the bypass ability.
  • If Femme Fatale is uninstalled, the Runner cannot bypass the ice chosen by the Femme Fatale when it was installed: the effect is no longer active since the card is no longer active. Even if that copy of Femme Fatale is re-installed, it is treated as a ‘new’ copy and cannot bypass anything other than the ice chosen when it was just installed.
FAQ 1.2|Page 6, Column 1, Paragraphs 4-6

e3 Feedback Implants

  • e3 Feedback Implants triggers itself, so the Runner can break all subroutines on a bioroid ice by paying credits after spending a single click.
FAQ 1.2|Page 6, Column 2, Paragraph 1

Fetal AI

  • The Runner must pay the 2Credit to steal Fetal AI from the Archives.
FAQ 1.2|Page 6, Column 2, Paragraph 2

Forged Activation Orders

  • The Corp cannot rez Akitaro Watanabe in response to a Forged Activation Orders from being played. The effect of Forged Activation Orders is immediately resolved unless prevented or avoided.
FAQ 1.2|Page 7, Column 1, Paragraph 1

Midori

  • Midori can only be used at timing structure of a run 2.
  • Ice that is swapped is installed, but the install cost of the ice being installed does not have to be paid.
  • If the Runner exposes an ice with Snitch, Midori can still swap the ice. If the Runner jacks out when using Snitch, then there is no opportunity to swap the ice.
  • Midori must already be rezzed before the run in order to use her on the first piece of ice protecting the server.
  • Ice installed with Midori can be rezzed for 3 less cost with the Amazon Industrial Zone.
FAQ 1.2|Page 7, Column 1, Paragraphs 2-6

Oversight AI

  • Playing Oversight AI does not give Engineering the Future 1 credit for an install.
  • Oversight AI is treated as a condition counter and not an operation when it is played.
  • Oversight AI is trashed to the Archives if the host ice is uninstalled.
FAQ 1.2|Page 7, Column 1, Paragraphs 7-9

Mandatory Upgrades

  • If Mandatory Upgrades is forfeited, the Corp loses the additional click immediately. The Corp cannot choose to spend the additional click before the forfeit, except as part of his last action (at which point it has already been spent, and there is nothing left for the Corp to lose). Each player should keep a running total of each click that is available for them to spend, rather than look at clicks individually.
FAQ 1.2|Page 7, Column 2, Paragraph 1

Net Shield

  • Net Shield prevents a single point of net damage. It does not prevent all net damage from a single source.
  • Multiple Net Shields cannot prevent more damage.
FAQ 1.2|Page 7, Column 2, Paragraphs 2-3

Noise

  • Cards trashed by Noise's ability are placed facedown in Archives.
FAQ 1.2|Page 8, Column 1, Paragraph 1

Personal Workshop

  • The Runner may use the first ability on Personal Workshop to host a program or a piece of hardware on it. Cards hosted by this ability are not installed, and therefore are inactive.
  • The Runner can pay to remove a power counter from a card hosted on Personal Workshop as a paid ability. A program installed from Personal Workshop follows all the normal install rules; you must trash already installed programs to make room for the new one, if necessary.
  • When there are no power counters on a program or a piece of hardware that has a play restriction on it that cannot be met (such as a Parasite with no rezzed ice to be hosted on or a console when there is already a console installed), that program or piece of hardware is trashed instead of being installed.
  • If Personal Workshop is uninstalled, all cards hosted on it are trashed and all counters on those cards are removed.
FAQ 1.2|Page 8, Column 1, Paragraphs 2-5

Red Herrings

  • The Runner can decline to pay the additional cost to steal an agenda, even if he has the credits to do so.
  • If the Runner accesses an agenda from R&D, but is unable or unwilling to steal it by paying the additional cost, he must show it to the Corp.
FAQ 1.2|Page 8, Column 1, Paragraphs 6-7

Parasite

  • Parasite cannot be hosted on Djinn. A card or counter can only be hosted in one place at a time, and Parasite has the restriction that it must be installed on a piece of ice.
  • If a piece of ice hosting Parasite is derezzed, the Parasite continues to collect virus tokens, but the hosting ice has no strength while derezzed and therefore cannot be trashed by Parasite unless it is rezzed again.
FAQ 1.2|Page 8, Column 2, Paragraphs 1-2

Sneakdoor Beta

  • If Sneakdoor Beta is trashed during a run it initiated, the run is still treated as a run on HQ if it is successful.
FAQ 1.2|Page 8, Column 2, Paragraph 3

Snitch

  • If the outermost piece of ice on a server is unrezzed, the Runner can use Snitch to look at it and then decide to jack out before encountering it.
FAQ 1.2|Page 9, Column 1, Paragraph 1

Tollbooth

  • If the Runner cannot pay 3Credit when encountering Tollbooth, then the run ends without the Runner paying any credits.
  • The Runner must pay 3Credit if he is able to do so, even by spending temporary credits (such as bad publicity credits).
FAQ 1.2|Page 9, Column 1, Paragraphs 2-3

Wyrm

  • The Runner can only use Wyrm to lower the strength of a currently encountered piece of ice, and only if Wyrm is of equal or higher strength than that ice.
FAQ 1.2|Page 9, Column 1, Paragraph 4

Sunset

  • When resolving Sunset, the ice must be rearranged in such a way that the Runner knows which piece of ice moved where.
FAQ 1.2|Page 9, Column 2, Paragraph 1

TMI

  • TMI can be rezzed multiple times while the Runner approaches it. Timing structure of a run 2.3 is a window that allows the approached piece of ice to be rezzed. There is no limit to the number of times a Corp can rez an approached piece of ice if it is derezzed during this window.
FAQ 1.2|Page 9, Column 2, Paragraph 2


Frequently Asked Questions


Top - Card Errata - Rules Clarifications - Card Clarifications - Frequently Asked Questions

See also the Cards with FAQ category.

This section answers some of the more frequently asked questions that arise while playing Android: Netrunner.

FAQ 1.2|Page 10, Column 1, Paragraph 1


If the Runner steals an agenda from Jinteki using the core set identity, but has no cards in hand, who wins?
The Runner wins the game. Whenever a player has 7 or more agenda points in his score area, the game immediately ends. The game ending takes precedence over any conditional ability that triggers when an agenda is stolen.

FAQ 1.2|Page 10, Column 1, Paragraph 2


When a piece of ice allows the Runner to break subroutines on it by spending clicks, does the Runner have to match the strength of the ice before using this ability?
No. The Runner only has to match the strength of a piece of ice with an icebreaker that he is using to interact with the ice. This ability allows the Runner to break subroutines by spending clicks without using any icebreakers.

FAQ 1.2|Page 10, Column 1, Paragraph 3


Can the Runner use Datasucker to reduce the strength of a piece of ice before an ability on that ice triggers when it is encountered (such as a Tollbooth)?
No. Tollbooth ends the run unless the Runner pays 3Credit before the Runner has the opportunity to use a paid ability. See step 3 of a run.

FAQ 1.2|Page 10, Column 1, Paragraph 4


Can the Runner combine multiple effects to make a run, like using both Sneakdoor Beta and Account Siphon?
No. Using each of those cards is an action, and a player cannot take an action during the resolution of another action.

FAQ 1.2|Page 10, Column 1, Paragraph 5


The rules state that "The Runner cannot jack out while approaching the first piece of ice during a run." Can the Runner jack out after the subroutine on Cell Portal resolves and he is approaching the outermost piece of ice protecting the server?
Yes. "The first piece of ice" refers to the first time a piece of ice is approached during a run, and not the ice itself. The Runner approaches the ice and has the opportunity to jack out.

FAQ 1.2|Page 10, Column 1, Paragraph 6


Can the Runner use the recurring credit on Cyberfeeder to pay for using Femme Fatale's bypass ability or Darwin's gaining counters ability?
Yes. Triggering any ability on an icebreaker is considered to be using it.

FAQ 1.2|Page 10, Column 1, Paragraph 7


There is a Parasite with 1 virus counter hosted on a rezzed Enigma, and the Runner has an Ice Carver installed. If the Runner encounters Chum, does not break its subroutine, and then continues the run and encounters Enigma, is the Enigma trashed?
No. Chum's ability is a required conditional effect that creates a constant +2 strength effect. When the Runner encounters the ice, both modifiers (Chum at +2 and Ice Carver at -1) apply at the same time and the strength of Enigma would be 2.

FAQ 1.2|Page 10, Column 2, Paragraph 1


If the Runner takes 4 brain damage from a single source, how many brain damage tokens would he get?
The Runner takes 1 brain damage token for each point of brain damage he suffers, even if it was suffered all at once. The Runner would get 4 tokens to mark the brain damage he has suffered.

FAQ 1.2|Page 10, Column 2, Paragraph 2


An upgrade is installed in a remote server in the same position as an agenda or asset. The Runner should not be able to tell what type of card is installed in a remote server by its position. This is different than installing an upgrade in a central server, where it is always installed in the root.

FAQ 1.2|Page 10, Column 2, Paragraph 3


Can the Runner use multiple icebreakers on a single piece of ice?
Yes, although there are few situations where this is beneficial. But the Runner cannot use one icebreaker's strength to allow another icebreaker to interact with the ice.

FAQ 1.2|Page 10, Column 2, Paragraph 4


Can the Runner install a new console if he already has one in play?
The limit of 1 console per player prevents the Runner from installing a second console, even if the Runner wishes to trash the first.

FAQ 1.2|Page 10, Column 2, Paragraph 5


Does the Corp know what cards the Runner accesses from HQ?
Yes. The Corp should know what cards are accessed and in what order.

FAQ 1.2|Page 10, Column 2, Paragraph 6


Can the Runner trash an accessed card with Demolition Run before any "when accessed" conditional abilities resolve?
No. The card must be accessed before Imp, Demolition Run, or any other similar effect can be used to trash it, just as if the Runner was paying its trash cost.

FAQ 1.2|Page 10, Column 2, Paragraph 7


Can the Runner install a program if he has no more available memory units?
Yes. The Runner can trash any number of already installed programs before installing a new one (and must if there is not enough space for the new program). So if the Runner has no free MU, he can initiate an install action, trash any number of programs to free up MU, and then install the new program.

FAQ 1.2|Page 11, Column 1, Paragraph 1


The Runner chooses an unrezzed Archer as the target of a Forged Activation Orders. Can the Corp choose to rez Archer, but then decline to pay the additional cost of forfeiting the agenda?
No. If the Corp chooses to rez Archer, then as part of this choice he must pay 4Credit and forfeit an agenda. Otherwise, the ice is trashed.

FAQ 1.2|Page 11, Column 1, Paragraph 2


Can the Corp rearrange his installed cards within a single server, to obscure the order that he installed them in?
The Corporation must keep the order of his installs clear to the Runner; he cannot rearrange cards in servers however he likes.

FAQ 1.2|Page 11, Column 1, Paragraph 3


If the Runner gains a click with Joshua B. and then trashes the card using Aesop's Pawnshop, would he still take a tag at the end of the turn, considering Joshua B is no longer active?
Yes. The Runner would still take the tag, even though Joshua B. is no longer active because the effect has already been triggered and is active itself. Once an effect is triggered, it will resolve unless prevented or avoided.

FAQ 1.2|Page 11, Column 1, Paragraph 4


Can the Runner use New Angeles City Hall to avoid the tags from an Account Siphon if they have 0 credits when the ability resolves?
No. The gaining of the credits and the taking of the tags resolves at the same time, so the Runner cannot use those credits to avoid the tags.

FAQ 1.2|Page 11, Column 1, Paragraph 5



Top - Card Errata - Rules Clarifications - Card Clarifications - Frequently Asked Questions

View Original: File:FAQ 1.2.pdf


Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.