This section contains the official rule clarifications and enhancements for Android: Netrunner. Used in conjunction with the core set rulebook, these clarifications and enhancements should enable a player to navigate through the most complex situations that can arise while playing the game.
Whenever there is an "If successful…" effect tied to the outcome of a run, the run itself must have been successful against the specified server(s), if applicable. If the Runner initiates a run against the specified server but ends the run on a different server, the "If successful…" effect does not resolve when the run is successful.
If the ability including "If successful…" does not specify a server, then it does not matter if the attacked server is changed during the run, and the ability resolves as normal.
The Runner can boost the strength of his icebreakers outside of an encounter with a piece of ice. However, unless that icebreaker says otherwise, its strength is immediately reset to its previous value.
Prevent/Avoid effects take priority over conditional abilities that would trigger from whatever is being prevented or avoided, except when a conditional ability uses the word "additional". An "additional" conditional ability occurs simultaneously with the trigger condition and can be prevented/avoided along with the trigger condition.
"Hosting" is the result of placing a card, counter, or token on top of a card, creating a relationship between the host card and what is hosted. If a card allows other cards to be hosted on it, those cards must be hosted on the card when they are installed, unless a card says otherwise.
Hosted counters or tokens can be spent without affecting their host. If a trigger cost requires one or more hosted counters or tokens, those counters or tokens are "spent" by being returned to the token bank from the card the ability appears on.
If a host is trashed or uninstalled, all cards, counters, and tokens hosted on it are also trashed. This cannot be prevented. If a host Corp card is derezzed, all cards, counters, and tokens hosted no it remain hosted.
The state of hosting is distinct (but not exclusive from) the state of installing. Most cards are hosted on another card when they are installed. If a card is hosted but not installed, the card is inactive.
The Crop cannot choose to destroy a server when installing cards; at least one card must be installed for other cards in or protecting that server to be trashed.
If there are no cards installed in or protecting a remote sever, then the sever immediately ceases to exist. If a server ceases to exist during a run, the run immediately ends. Unless the run has passed step 4.4 of the timing structure of a run, it is not considered to be successful or unsuccessful.
Recurring credits are placed on a card when the card becomes active, and can be used immediately. Recurring credits do not stack; a player replaces recurring credits up to the number listed on the card when his or her turn begins. This occurs at step 1.2 of the Runner's turn, before any conditional abilities can be triggered. Recurring credits are only ever replaced up to their current value, not removed.
If a Corporation card is not visible to the Runner when it is trashed or discarded, then it is sent to Archives facedown. If a Corporation card is visible to the Runner when it is trashed or discarded, it is sent to Archives faceup.
If a specific card or card type in an inactive state is chosen by a card effect, the Corporation must show that card to the Runner without changing its faceup or facedown status. The Corporation only reveals the card if it was facedown and the effect says he must reveal it.
If an infinite loop is created, the player responsible for the loop must choose a number. The loop instantaneously resolves that many times, and then ends. The Runner must jack out to end an infinite loop that occurs during a run, unless a card ability prevents that from occurring. If the Runner cannot jack out, then it is the Corp's responsibility to end the loop by letting the Runner through to the server.
Parasite cannot be hosted on Djinn. A card or counter can only be hosted in one place at a time, and Parasite has the restriction that it must be installed on a piece of ice.
If a piece of ice hosting Parasite is derezzed, the Parasite continues to collect virus tokens, but the hosting ice has no strength while derezzed and therefore cannot be trashed by Parasite unless it is rezzed again.
Femme Fatale does not need to match the strength of a piece of ice in order to bypass it.
The Runner can spend the credit from Cyberfeeder to pay for the bypass ability.
If Femme Fatale is uninstalled, the Runner cannot bypass the ice chosen by the Femme Fatale when it was installed: the ability is no longer active since the card is no longer active. Even if that copy of Femme Fatale is re-installed, it is treated as a ‘new’ copy and cannot bypass anything other than the ice chosen when it was just installed.
If Mandatory Upgrades is forfeited, the Corp loses the additional click immediately. The Corp cannot choose to spend the additional click before the forfeit, except as part of his last action (at which point it has already been spent, and there is nothing left for the Corp to lose). Each player should keep a running total of each click that is available for them to spend, rather than look at clicks individually.
TMI can be rezzed multiple times while the Runner approaches it. Timing structure of a run 2.3 is a window that allows the approached piece of ice to be rezzed. There is no limit to the number of times a Corp can rez an approached piece of ice if it is derezzed during this window.
If there is an icebreaker already installed on Dinosaurus, the Runner can install a different icebreaker onto Dinosaurus, trashing the previously installed icebreaker.
If the Runner has no free MU but a Dinosaurus that is not currently hosting an icebreaker, he can install an icebreaker on Dinosaurus without trashing a program. Declaring that you are hosting it on Dinosaurus as part of the install action, and so the memory cost of the program does not need to be taken into account.
The Runner may use the first ability on Personal Workshop to host a program or a piece of hardware on it. Cards hosted by this ability are not installed, and therefore are inactive.
The Runner can pay to remove a power counter from a card hosted on Personal Workshop as a paid ability. A program installed from Personal Workshop follows all the normal install rules; you must trash already installed programs to make room for the new one, if necessary.
When there are no power counters on a program or a piece of hardware that has a play restriction on it that cannot be met (such as a Parasite with no rezzed ice to be hosted on or a console when there is already a console installed), that program or piece of hardware is trashed instead of being installed.
If Personal Workshop is uninstalled, all cards hosted on it are trashed and all counters on those cards are removed.
Looking at the top 3 cards of R&D does not remove the cards from R&D. The cards are still in R&D and able to be affected by operations played with Accelerated Diagnostics.
Each operation the Corp looks at can be played in any order. The Corp does not have to play the topmost operation first.
When the Corp plays an operation, he fully resolves it before playing another one or trashing the rest of the cards.
If any o the 3 cards looked at are no longer in the top 3 positions of R&D (as determined when Accelerated Diagnostics was played), then those cards cannot be played.
The Corp can only play and look at the top 3 cards (as determined when Accelerated Diagnostics was played. Even if other cards are moved into the top 3, those cards are not eligible to be played/looked at by the Accelerated Diagnostics.
If one of the operations played shuffles R&D, the remainder of Accelerated Diagnostics' effect is ignored.
If Security Testing is uninstalled after a server is chosen, its ability cannot replace accessing cards if the first run on the chosen server is successful; the ability is no longer active since the card is no longer active.
If the Runner steals an agenda from Jinteki using the core set identity, but has no cards in hand, who wins if the agenda gives the Runner his seventh point?The Runner wins the game. Whenever a player has 7 or more agenda points in his score area, the game immediately ends. The game ending takes precedence over any conditional ability that triggers when an agenda is stolen.
When a piece of ice allows the Runner to break subroutines on it by spending clicks, does the Runner have to match the strength of the ice before using this ability? No. The Runner only has to match the strength of a piece of ice with an icebreaker that he is using to interact with the ice. This ability allows the Runner to break subroutines by spending clicks without using any icebreakers.
Can the Runner use Datasucker to reduce the strength of a piece of ice before an ability on that ice triggers when it is encountered (such as a Tollbooth)? No. Tollbooth ends the run unless the Runner pays 3 before the Runner has the opportunity to use a paid ability. See step 3 of a run.
Can the Runner combine multiple effects to make a run, like using both Sneakdoor Beta and Account Siphon? No. Using each of those cards is an action, and a player cannot take an action during the resolution of another action.
The rules state that "The Runner cannot jack out while approaching the first piece of ice during a run." Can the Runner jack out after the subroutine on Cell Portal resolves and he is approaching the outermost piece of ice protecting the server? Yes. "The first piece of ice" refers to the first time a piece of ice is approached during a run, and not the ice itself. The Runner approaches the ice and has the opportunity to jack out.
There is a Parasite with 1 virus counter hosted on a rezzed Enigma, and the Runner has an Ice Carver installed. If the Runner encounters Chum, does not break its subroutine, and then continues the run and encounters Enigma, is the Enigma trashed? No. Chum's ability is a required conditional effect that creates a constant +2 strength effect. When the Runner encounters the ice, both modifiers (Chum at +2 and Ice Carver at -1) apply at the same time and the strength of Enigma would be 2.
If the Runner takes 4 brain damage from a single source, how many brain damage tokens would he get? The Runner takes 1 brain damage token for each point of brain damage he suffers, even if it was suffered all at once. The Runner would get 4 tokens to mark the brain damage he has suffered.
Where is an upgrade installed in a remote server? An upgrade is installed in a remote server in the same position as an agenda or asset. The Runner should not be able to tell what type of card is installed in a remote server by its position. This is different than installing an upgrade in a central server, where it is always installed in the root.
Can the Runner use multiple icebreakers on a single piece of ice? Yes, although there are few situations where this is beneficial. But the Runner cannot use one icebreaker's strength to allow another icebreaker to interact with the ice.
Can the Runner trash an accessed card with Demolition Run before any "when accessed" conditional abilities resolve? No. The card must be accessed before Imp, Demolition Run, or any other similar effect can be used to trash it, just as if the Runner was paying its trash cost.
Can the Runner install a program if he has no more available memory units? Yes. The Runner can trash any number of already installed programs before installing a new one (and must if there is not enough space for the new program). So if the Runner has no free MU, he can initiate an install action, trash any number of programs to free up MU, and then install the new program.
The Runner chooses an unrezzed Archer as the target of a Forged Activation Orders. Can the Corp choose to rez Archer, but then decline to pay the additional cost of forfeiting the agenda? No. If the Corp chooses to rez Archer, then as part of this choice he must pay 4 and forfeit an agenda. Otherwise, the ice is trashed.
Can the Corp rearrange his installed cards within a single server, to obscure the order that he installed them in? The Corporation must keep the order of his installs clear to the Runner; he cannot rearrange cards in servers however he likes.
If the Runner gains a click with Joshua B. and then trashes the card using Aesop's Pawnshop, would he still take a tag at the end of the turn, considering Joshua B is no longer active? Yes. The Runner would still take the tag, even though Joshua B. is no longer active, because "If you do…" is part of the same ability. Once an ability is triggered, it remains active and resolves unless prevented or avoided.
Can the Runner use New Angeles City Hall to avoid the tags from an Account Siphon if they have 0 credits when the ability resolves? No. The gaining of the credits and the taking of the tags resolves at the same time, so the Runner cannot use those credits to avoid the tags.
If the Corp uses Efficiency Committee for extra clicks, can he then play Shipment from Kaguya and Trick of Light to place/move advancement tokens during that turn? Yes. Placing or moving advancement tokens on a card is different than advancing it, and Efficiency Committee only stops the Corp from advancing cards.
The Runner does not break a subroutine that specifies "Trash 1 program." Who chooses the program to trash? The Corp chooses which program to trash. Unless otherwise noted, each player makes the choices required by the effects on his cards.
Can the Runner use the recurring credit on Cyberfeeder to pay for using Femme Fatale's bypass ability or Darwin's gaining counters ability? Yes. Triggering any ability on an icebreaker is considered to be using it.
How does Rielle "Kit" Peddler's ability interact with bypassing a piece of ice? Is there anyway to bypass a piece of ice and make the next piece of ice a code gate? There is no way to bypass a piece of ice and then make the next piece of ice a code gate. Rielle "Kit" Peddler makes the first piece of ice encountered a code gate, and this is a constant ability. The Runner encounters any ice bypassed, and cannot choose to resolve the bypass ability before Kit's constant ability, because the constant ability is always active.
If the Runner has The Source installed and plays a Notoriety, does the clause "Add Notoriety to your score area as an agenda" cause The Source to be trashed? No. Adding Notoriety to the Runner's score area is not the same as scoring or stealing an agenda, and so does not trash The Source.
The Runner encounters Heimdall 1.0 and uses a click to break the first subroutine. If the Corp rezzes a Tyr's Hand and uses its ability to prevent that break, can the Runner spend another click to rebreak the subroutine? Yes. Tyr's Hand prevents a subroutine from being broken once, but the Runner can break the subroutine again.
If the Runner encounters Heimdall 2.0 and uses two clicks to break the first two subroutines, and the Corp uses a Tyr's Hand to prevent one of them from being broken, can e3 Feedback Implants be used to break that subroutine again? Yes. Both subroutines are broken at the same time, and so the Runner can respond to the broken subroutine with e3 Feedback Implants.
The Runner encounters Heimdall 2.0 and spends two clicks to break both of the first two subroutines. He then uses e3 Feedback Implants to break the third subroutine, but has that break prevented by Tyr's Hand. Can the Runner use e3 Feedback Implants again, or has the chance to use it now passed? Yes, the Runner can use the e3 Feedback Implants again.
How does Project Ares interact with Sacrificial Construct? Can the Runner choose to trash a Sacrificial Construct, and then trash that Sacrificial Construct to prevent another card from being trashed by Project Ares? Yes. All installed cards being trashed by Project Ares are chosen at the same time, and the prevent ability on Sacrificial Construct can be resolved to prevent another card from being trashed.
The Runner has Blackguard installed and exposes an Archer. Is the Corp forced to rez the Archer? Blackguard only forces the Corp to pay the rez cost, if able. The Corp does not have to rez the Archer because he can decline to pay the additional cost of forfeiting an agenda.
The Corp has two copies of Director Haas installed, one rezzed and one unrezzed. The Corp spends four clicks and then rezzes the second copy. Does the Corp have an additional click to spend? No. Clicks are tracked as a running total and not individually. The Corp still has 4 clicks to spend on his turn, and he has spent 4 clicks, whether or not the additional click came from a different card.
If the Runner did not break a subroutine on Hudson 1.0 and accesses an installed Toshiyuki Sakai, can he access the swapped-in card? No. The Runner cannot access the card swapped with Toshiyuki Sakai because it is a new card and he has reached his access limit.
Can I spend credits to boost the strength of an icebreaker, or break a subroutine on a piece of ice, if I am about to encounter a Tollbooth during step 2.3 of a run? You cannot break subroutines outside of an encounter with a piece of ice, but you can boost the strength of an icebreaker.
The Runner has Security Testing and Aesop's Pawnshop installed. At the start of his turn, the Runner names a server for Security Testing, then sells it to Aesop's Pawnshop. The first time he makes a successful run on that server, does he gain 2 credits instead of accessing cards? No. A conditional ability can only resolve if the card it is on is active when the trigger condition is met, and Security Testing is no longer active after it is trashed. Security Testing has two conditional abilities on it (like Femme Fatale), unlike Joshua B., who has one.
The Runner uses Femme Fatale to bypass a Komainu for 0 credits. If there is a Chum installed before the Komainu, are the 0 subroutines on Komainu broken, or does the Runner take the 3 net damage? The subroutines are not broken because the ice was bypassed, and the Runner takes 3 net damage.
If Security Testing is used on HQ and the Runner plays an Account Siphon, can he choose which replacement effect to use? Yes. Both of the cards have the same trigger condition, so the Runner can choose the order that they resolve in (and thus which one is used).