FANDOM


Page 31, Column 1, Paragraph(s) 2, Core Rule Book
Host: A card that is currently holding other cards or counters.


Some cards can be installed onto other cards. Some cards can have other cards, tokens, or counters installed on them. A card that has anything installed on it is called a host card, while those items are considered to be hosted on the host card. Hosted cards and tokens can be placed and removed through various card abilities and effects, all without affecting the host card. However, if a host card ever leaves play, all of its hosted cards, tokens, and counters are immediately and unpreventably trashed.

Page 4, Column 1, Paragraph(s) 5-9, FAQ
"Hosting" is the result of placing a card, counter, or token on top of a card, creating a relationship between the host card and what is hosted. If a card allows other cards to be hosted on it, those cards must be hosted on the card when they are installed, unless a card says otherwise.

Hosted counters or tokens can be spent without affecting their host. If a trigger cost requires one or more hosted counters or tokens, those counters or tokens are "spent" by being returned to the token bank from the card the ability appears on.

If a host is trashed or uninstalled, all cards, counters, and tokens hosted on it are also trashed. This cannot be prevented. If a host Corp card is derezzed, all cards, counters, and tokens hosted on it remain hosted.

The state of hosting is distinct (but not exclusive from) the state of installing. Most cards are hosted on another card when they are installed. If a card is hosted but not installed, the card is inactive.

Page 22, Column 1, Paragraph(s) 5-7, Core Rule Book
Some cards can only be installed on other cards; others allow cards to be installed on them. A card that has other cards installed on it is called the "host card," while the card installed on it is called the "hosted card." Hosted cards can leave play without affecting their host.

Cards can also host counters and tokens. Hosted counters or tokens can be spent, or leave play, without affecting their host. If a trigger cost requires one or more hosted counters, those counters must be spent (returned to the token bank) from the card that the ability appears on.

If a host leaves play, then al cards and counters hosted also leave play. This cannot be prevented.

"Hosted"Edit

When a card uses the word "hosted" in its text, then it refers only to cards, tokens, and counters hosted on itself and never to items hosted on other cards. Cards are always hosted faceup.

Page 2, Column 2, Paragraph(s) 7, FAQ
"Hosted" is always self-referential and refers to cards and tokens hosted on that card, unless otherwise noted. Cards are always hosted faceup, unless otherwise noted.

Related RulingsEdit

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.