Fandom

Project ANCUR

Ice Carver

2,405pages on
this wiki
Add New Page
Comments0 Share


All ice is encountered with its strength lowered by 1.
In the public consciousness, there's a hard line between corp and runner. In the real world, things are a little more porous. The corp need the best hackers to run their networks, and some of the best hackers are ex-runners who like the idea of a regular paycheck. But sometimes things run the other way, and someone on the inside makes something like this.



Ice Carver is an Anarch resource that synergizes with their suite of fixed-strength icebreakers. It has only one ability.

Constant Ability
Every piece of ice that is encountered by the Runner has its strength lowered by 1 during the encounter

Related FAQsEdit

  • FAQ 1.0.18 - regarding Parasite, Ice Carver, Chum, and Enigma: constant strength modifiers are totaled up in order to determine a piece of ice's strength at any given time.

Related RulingsEdit

  • Parasite + Ice Carver can trash a Tollbooth before its "when encountered" ability resolves, but Parasite + Datasucker cannot.[1]:Ruling


SourcesEdit

  1. Parasite, Ice Carver, Datasucker v. Tollbooth Ruling
    Corp has Tollbooth. There is a Parasite on it with 4 counters, making it currently strength 1

    Runner has Ice Carver in play and runs. "All ice is encountered with its strength lowered by 1."

    Is the ice trashed before the runner has to lose 3 credits? I was reading somewhere about the active player choosing the order of effects, and if it is the runners turn, could he choose to process Ice Carver effect first, then Parasite, killing it before he has to pay the 3Credit

    In a follow up question, lets say that there was only 2 Parasite counters on the ice, but the runner has Datasucker in play with 2 tokens on it. "Hosted virus counter: Rezzed piece of ice currently being encountered has -1 strength until the end of the encounter. " That says "currently being encountered", so I think you would have to lose 3Credit from Tollbooth before you get to use it, whereas Ice Carver says that the ice is encountered at strength -1.
    The Tollbooth would be trashed before its conditional ability triggered. You have two different constant effects (Ice Carver and Parasite) which combine to knock it off before the Tollbooth can force the Runner to pay credits.

    Datasucker counters could not be used until after Tollbooth's ability. "When encountered" conditional abilities are resolved before there is an opportunity to trigger paid abilities.

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.