FANDOM


Installing is the action of playing a card onto the table, usually from hand. Both the Corporation and Runner can install one card from HQ/grip as an action during the Action Phase on his/her respective turns. As part of an install action, there is often an option to first trash other cards of similar type, depending on the type of card being installed.

Cards that can be installedEdit

Corporation cards that can be installed:

Runner cards that can be installed:

Cards that cannot be installedEdit

Certain types of cards are never installed: Events, Operations, and Identities.

Page 3, Column 1, Paragraph(s) 2, FAQ
Events, operations, and identity cards are never installed.

Installation RestrictionsEdit

Each type of Corporation card has its own installation restrictions and associated costs. See each card type for details on the install cost and restrictions for cards of that type. The Corporation must keep the different types of cards, where they are installed, and whether or not they are rezzed clear at all times; s/he cannot rearrange installed cards or attempt to muddle the install order of cards.

Page 12, Column 1, Sidebar, Core Rule Book
Rezzed and Unrezzed Cards

The Corporation's installed cards have two play states: rezzed, which means that the card is faceup and active, and unrezzed, which means that the card is facedown and inactive. The Corporation can look at his unrezzed cards at any time. To rez an installed card, the Corporation pays its rez cost and turns the card faceup.

Note: Rezzing a card does not cost the Corporation a click.

To organize this hidden information for both players, it is important that the Corporation observes the following rules for card orientation:

  • Agendas, assets, and upgrades are always installed in a vertical orientation.
  • Ice is always installed in a horizontal orientation.
Page 13, Column 1, Paragraph(s) 7, Core Rule Book
Note: Installed cards cannot be rearranged or mixed-up by either player except through card effects.

A server cannot be destroyed by installing cards in or protecting it.[1]:Ruling

Page 4, Column 1, Paragraph(s) 10, FAQ
The Corp cannot choose to destroy a server when installing cards; at least one card must be installed for other cards in or protecting that server to be trashed.

FAQ 1.2.16Edit

From the FAQ. Also numbers 1.3.16, 1.4.16, and 1.5.15

Confirmation that installed cards cannot be purposefully obfuscated by either player.

Page 10, Column 1, Paragraph(s) 3, FAQ
Can the Corp rearrange his installed cards within a single server, to obscure the order that he installed them in?
The Corp must keep the order of his installs clear to the Runner, he cannot rearrange cards in servers however he likes.

Installing Multiple CardsEdit

When more than one card is installed by an effect, those cards are installed sequentially.

Page 3, Column 2, Paragraph(s) 1, FAQ
Whenever multiple cards are installed by the same effect, those cards are installed one at a time.


TextEdit

Page 5, Column 2, Paragraph(s) 4, Core Rule Book
Install: This is the game term for playing a card onto the table.
Page 13, Column 1, Paragraph(s) 3, Core Rule Book
Installing Cards

For Click, the Corporation installs a single agenda, asset, upgrade, or piece of ice from HQ, placing it facedown on the table.

Page 13, Column 1, Paragraph(s) 5, Core Rule Book
When installing a card in a server, the Corporation can first trash any cards already installed in that server. Trashed cards go to Archives faceup if they are rezzed, and facedown if they are unrezzed.
Page 13, Column 1, Paragraph(s) 11, Core Rule Book
If the Corporation wants to install an agenda in a remote server that has an asset or an agenda already installed in it, he can install the card but must trash the existing card first as part of the install action. The Corporation does not have to trash upgrades in order to install an agenda or an asset.
Page 13, Column 1, Paragraph(s) 13, Core Rule Book
If the Corporation wants to install an agenda in a remote server that has an asset or agenda already installed in it, he can install the card but must trash the existing card first as part of the install action.
Page 13, Column 2, Paragraph(s) 6, Core Rule Book
"When installing ice, the Corporation can first trash any ice protecting that server in order to reduce the install cost. Then, he installs the new piece of ice in the outermost position in front of the server.
Page 15, Column 1, Paragraph(s) 10-11, Core Rule Book
Installing Cards

For Click, the Runner installs a single program, resource, or piece of hardware faceup in his rig. An installed Runner card is active and does not have to be rezzed like a Corporation card.

Note: The Runner's cards are always installed faceup and in a vertical orientation.

Page 15, Column 2, Paragraph(s) 3, Core Rule Book
The Runner can choose to trash any number of his installed programs at the beginning of an install program action.
Page 31, Column 1, Paragraph(s) 8, Core Rule Book
Install: The act of placing an agenda, asset, ice, upgrade, hardware, program, or resource card onto the table. The Runner installs cards in his rig, the Corporation in his servers.

See AlsoEdit

Related RulingsEdit

SourcesEdit

  1. Working on a Server Ruling
    Suppose Turtlebacks are installed and rezzed, and that I have a second remote server which is empty (only ice). I install a new piece of ice protecting that remote, trashing all the ice already installed. Do I get 1 credit from Turtlebacks, because the server ceased to exist as soon as there were no cards in or protecting it?
    The server does not cease to exist because it is being worked on. It is impossible to destroy a server by installing cards.

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.