FANDOM


Multiple triggered Awakening Centers can be used in a single run, but if the run ends during the encounter forced by the first Awakening Center then the second one cannot trigger because its trigger condition is no longer relevant. Both Awakening Centers trigger and must resolve immediately, but they must do so one at a time. A piece of ice rezzed by Awakening Center is not protecting the server.

Omy Moose's Question[1]Edit

When a run ends, what happens to any pending triggered conditional abilities?

For example, if a runner runs on a remote server with 2 Awakening Centers, both of which have a bioroid on, what happens? Both Awakening Centers trigger when the runner passes the last ice (what if there is no ice?) and the corp gets to choose the order of resolution. The corp then chooses for the runner to encounter Viktor 1.0 from Awakening Center A. The runner spends a click to break the brain damage and lets the "End the run" subroutine activate. Does the pending triggered second Awakening Center then get to fire to force an encounter as well, or do pending triggered abilities get prevented in the same fashion as pending "on encounter" abilities when you bypass an ice? If this is the case it could do with a rule in the FAQ!

AnswerEdit

Tybb-sly Since "all" includes zero, the Corp can trigger Awakening Center even if there is no ice protecting the server. The Corp can use multiple Awakening Centers per run, and in your scenario of the run ending the second Awakening Center would no longer trigger since ending the run closes the possibility of triggering another in-run ability.

mplain's Question[2]Edit

In short, when a runner encounters a piece of ice from Awakening Center, does this ice get +1 strength from Experiential Data installed on the same server?

In full, the question indirectly addresses the nature of conditional triggered abilities. Are they triggered and resolved immediately, or are there some triggers "pending resolution"?

Recently you ruled that "The Corp can use multiple Awakening Centers per run..."

I assumed this means that the encountered ice is considered to be "protecting the server". But other people tell me I'm wrong.

So, when the Runner passes all of the ice protecting a server, two Awakening Centers trigger, then one of the triggers resolves. After the runner passes that new ice:

1. The 2nd AwC's ability, that was trigged before and was previously "floating in the air" or "on the stack", resolves (that would imply that conditional abilities do nor trigger and resolve immediately - that is, there are triggers "pending resolution")

2. The 2nd AwC's ability trigger anew and resolves immediately (that would imply that the "when the Runner passes all of the ice protecting this server" condition is satisfied again --> the encountered ice was indeed protecting the server, so it would've benefitted from Experiential Data).

To my understandind the encounter with new ice should cancel any triggers left, since the runner is now someplace else on the timing structure of a run. Just like bypassing Tollbooth prevents its "pay 3 credits" ability.

AnswerEdit

Tybb-sly The ice is not considered to be protecting the server, and does not get the +1 strength from Experiential Data. Conditional abilities, when triggered, are resolved immediately. But you cannot trigger more than one at the same time.

ImplicationsEdit

This ruling is evidence that triggered conditional abilities fizzle if their trigger conditions are no longer met when they go to resolve.

SourceEdit

  1. Posted to Board Game Geek by Omy Moose on October 28, 2013
  2. Posted to Board Game Geek by mplain on October 29, 2013

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.