FANDOM


A series of questions asked to Lukas to determine the precise ordering of paid ability windows. See the Paid Abilities Primer by Benjamin Finkel for an in-depth guide.

Brian Moore's Question[1]Edit

Regarding timing structure of paid abilities, the rulebook says once both players get a chance to use paid abilities and then someone passes that ends paid abilities. Does that mean active player goes then inactive player goes and they both respectively do any paid abilities they want, but if the inactive player does nothing that paid abilities close? Or does that mean active player goes, inactive player goes, then it's back to the active player and as soon as a player chooses not to use paid abilities after the first cycle through then the paid abilities window ends?

AnswerEdit

Tybb-sly It's the latter. From the rulebook: "After both players have had at least one opportunity to act and a player declines to act, then the players cannot trigger more paid abilities, rez more cards, or score more agendas until the next opportunity to do so."

Follow up
There seems to be some confusion over my earlier answer to question 1. I would like to apologize for any confusion it caused. I was interpreting "the active player goes" and "the inactive player goes" as abilities being triggered or cards being rezzed. I see now that it just means "were given the opportunity to act." With regards to your question, the former description is the correct one: if a player has the opportunity to act and declines to act (does nothing), then the 'window' closes unless the other player has not yet had the opportunity to act.

Aleksi Laitinen's Question[2]Edit

There has been some confusion regarding the Timing Priority, particularly with the following sentence from the rules and with the example case:

"After both players have had at least one opportunity to act and a player declines to act, ..."

Example:

Player A is in turn and there is a window to play paid abilities. Player A declines to act. Player B activates some paid abilities. Now, does player A get to act again?

In other (and more confusing) words, has the condition of the quoted rules text been met, because player A declined to act ("a player declines to act") and both players "have had at least one opportunity to act", or does "a player declines to act" have to happen after "both players have had at least one opportunity to act"?

AnswerEdit

Tybb-sly Player A will have another opportunity to act, since player B triggered some abilities. The 'window' only closes after a player declines to act (does nothing), unless it is player A declining to act at his first opportunity.

James Ryan's Question[3]Edit

We're having some trouble interpreting this part of the timing priority rule:

"After both players have had at least one opportunity to act and a player declines to act, then the players cannot trigger more abilities, rez more cards, or score more agendas until the next opportunity to do so."

Q1. Should we read that statement to mean:

A. After: both players had at least one chance to act AND a player declines to act THEN players cannot trigger more abilities.

Or

B. IF A player declines to act AFTER both players have had a chance to act THEN players cannot trigger more abilities.

Q2. Examples:

On the runner's turn during a paid abilities window, which is true:

A) Runner declines to act, Corp acts, window is now closed and neither player may act again.

B) Runner declines to act, Corp acts, Runner can respond. If the runner declines, the window is now closed and neither player may act again.

Also, in the same situation, which of these is true:

A) Runner acts, Corp declines to act, window is now closed and neither player may act again.

B) Runner acts, Corp declines to act, Runner may act again. If the runner declines to act, window is now closed and neither player may act again.

AnswerEdit

Tybb-sly It should work like this:
  1. Player 1: Opportunity to act
    1. Decline OR act
      1. If declined, window closes*
      2. If act, continue to step 2
  2. 2. Player 2: Opportunity to act
    1. Decline OR act
      1. If declined, window closes
      2. If act, return to step 1

*UNLESS this is the first time either player has been given the opportunity to act

Example 1: B is correct

Example 2: A is correct

Clayton Threadgill's Question[4]Edit

I need a clarification on the timing priority rules from page 21 of the core rulebook. For clarity's sake, I'll use an example.

During a run, the players reach an action window (doesn't matter which one). The runner is the current player, so he has the first opportunity to act, but he declines. The corp then also declines to act.

Can the runner then use an ability, or has the action window closed?

AnswerEdit

Tybb-sly The window has closed, because a player has declined to act and both players have had an opportunity to do so.

SourcesEdit

  1. Posted to Board Game Geek by Brian Moore on July 19, 2013
  2. Posted to Board Game Geek by Aleksi Laitinen on July 25, 2013
  3. Posted to Board Game Geek by James Ryan on July 25, 2013
  4. Posted to Board Game Geek by Clayton Threadgill on July 25, 2013

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.