FANDOM


This ruling was made official in FAQ 1.5. See Accessing Archives.

When the Runner accesses Archives, first all facedown cards in Archives are turned faceup. Then the Runner chooses the order of access. If a replacement effect, such as Retrieval Run, is used on Archives, then all cards that were facedown remain facedown and the runner does not access any cards.

QuestionEdit

The FAQ says "When the Runner makes a successful run on Archives, he turns all cards faceup in Archives before accessing them. Then he accesses and resolves individual cards one by one, in any order he wants."

Does that mean that when the Runner uses Retrieval Run, or when there's an Ash 2X3ZB9CY on Archives whose trace is successful, that the Runner still can turn all the cards faceup? He can't score any agendas, but he can see that they're there?

AnswerEdit

Tybb-sly If the Runner uses a replacement effect such as Retrieval Run on Archives, he does not turn any facedown cards faceup. That is still part of the larger action of accessing, even though it is not the particular moment when cards are accessed.

Ash 2X3ZB9CY is a different case. You would turn all of the cards faceup in the case of Ash 2X3ZB9CY, but the Runner cannot access them.

SourceEdit

Posted to Board Game Geek by Sohum Banerjea on May 31, 2013

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.