FANDOM



Trash: Prevent an installed program or an installed piece of hardware from being trashed.
The life expectancy of a jacked construct is about that of a mayfly. In other words, short.



Related FAQsEdit

  • FAQ 1.3.25 - All cards to be trashed by an over-advanced Project Ares are chosen first and then trashed simultaneously. The Runner can choose Sacrificial Construct as one of the cards to be trashed and then use that same Sacrificial Construct to prevent the trashing of another card.

Related RulingsEdit

  • The Runner can use Sacrificial Construct to prevent an empty Plascrete Carapace from trashing itself, but the Plascrete Carapace will just trash itself again immediately after.[1]:Ruling
  • If the Corporation over-advances a Project Ares by 2 and the Runner chooses to trash a Sacrificial Construct and one other card in order to prevent the other card from being trashed with the Sacrificial Cosntruct, then the Corporation does not take the bad publicity from Project Ares.[2]:Ruling
  • Sacrificial Construct cannot break the hosting rules to prevent a hosted caïssa from being trashed.[3]:Ruling


Trivia Edit

The card is unique in that it depicts an electronic device even though the card type is Resource and not Hardware. It also features the sub-type Remote which has not been used on any other card so far.

The card is a reprint of the card Umbrella Policy from the original Netrunner TCG. [4]

A Sacrificial Construct is visible on the alternate art of Aesop's Pawnshop.

SourcesEdit

  1. Sacrificial Construct v. Empty Plascrete Carapace
    What happens if I spend all tokens from Plascrete Carapace and prevent it from being trashed? Does Plascrete Carapace have constant ability that should be checked in every single moment? Or does this ability mean something like "trash Plascrete Carapace when the last counter's removed"?
    Plascrete Carapace's trash ability is a conditional ability that continually meets its trigger condition once there are no counters on it, so it would be trashed immediately after it was prevented from being trashed by the Sacrificial Construct.
  2. Sacrificial Construct v. Project Ares Ruling
    The FAQ states that if the Runner is required to trash two cards to Project Ares, then they can target Sacrificial Construct and another card, then use Sacrificial Construct to prevent the other card being trashed. If this happens, and these were the only two cards being targeted by Project Ares, does the Corp still take a Bad Publicity? The card reads they should if the Runner trashed any cards; however it may be argued that they did not trash cards as a direct result of the Ares effect. I have seen some very circular arguments on this topic, so an answer would be very appreciated!
    The Corp would not take the bad publicity, because the Runner did not trash a card as the direct result of Project Ares.
  3. Saving Trashed Caïssa Ruling
    Can a Sacrificial Construct save a Caïssa program from being trashed when its host ice is being trashed? I would assume no - but some folks are claiming golden rule protection that the wording of Sacrificial Construct (prevent trashing) conflicts with the ruling in the rulebook / FAQ (cannot be prevented), and thus per the Golden Rule the Sacrificial Construct wins.
    The trashing cannot be prevented per the rules for hosting. The Golden Rule only applies when there is a direct contradiction between a card and the rules.
  4. http://www.netrunneronline.com/cards/umbrella-policy/