Fandom

Project ANCUR

Sensei's Added Subroutine Location and Timing Ruling

2,407pages on
this wiki
Add New Page
Comments0 Share

Sensei's subroutine creates a constant effect. The additional "SubroutineEnd the run" subroutine added by it is there as soon as the next ice is encountered because this effect is always on and doesn't trigger or resolve. As such, the additional subroutine will be present when Femme Fatale's ability triggers to bypass the ice.

If the Runner encounters a Komainu after Sensei, then the "SubroutineEnd the run" subroutine is located after the subroutines Komainu gains by itself.

QuestionEdit

Suppose the runner encounters Sensei and does not break the subroutine, and then encounters Ice Wall, which has been chosen as the target of Femme Fatale. Does it cost 1 credit to bypass Ice Wall with Femme Fatale (because these are simultaneous conditional abilities, and the runner may trigger Femme Fatale before Ice Wall gains a subroutine), or 2 credits (because 'for the remainder of this run, each piece of ice encountered except Sensei gains "SubroutineEnd the run" after all its other subroutines' is a constant ability)?

If the previous answer is 2 credits, then suppose instead the runner encounters Sensei and does not break the subroutine, and then encounters Komainu. Does the end-the-run subroutine come first, because it is already present, as the first subroutine, when Komainu gains its net damage subroutines, or last, because Sensei says the end-the-run is after all other subroutines? Or something else entirely?

AnswerEdit

Tybb-sly The Sensei is creating a constant ability that gives each piece of ice an additional subroutine. So when you initially encounter the Ice Wall, it costs 2 credits to use Femme Fatale in order to bypass it. With the Komainu, the subroutine will be by itself, unless the Runner has cards in hand. If the Runner has cards in hand, then the subroutine drops to the last position as soon as the Komainu gains its subroutines.

ImplicationsEdit

Subroutines gained by a piece of ice's own abilities have higher priority than subroutines given to it by other card effects that say "after all its other subroutines."

SourceEdit

Posted to Board Game Geek by Harris Enniss on May 12, 2014

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.