FANDOM


This is the fifteenth in a series of unofficial FAQs released with each new data pack. Below are rulings from the ANCUR staff regarding some of the cards in Terminal Directive, as approved by the lead designer Michael Boggs.

Steve Cambridge: Master GrifterEdit

Can the Runner choose to look at the top card of R&D with Find the Truth before using Steve Cambridge?

Yes. Both cards meet their trigger conditions at the same time, so the Runner chooses the order in which they trigger.

If the Runner returns Utopia Shard to their grip with Steve Cambridge, can they then install Utopia Shard?

No. In order for Utopia Shard to install itself with its ability, it must already be in the Runner’s grip at the time it would meet its trigger condition.

If the Runner, playing as Steve Cambridge, plays an Account Siphon, can they choose that copy of Account Siphon as one of the cards for Steve’s ability?

No. An event that initiates a run is not considered fully resolved until that run is complete, and thus is not trashed until afterward.

Spear PhishingEdit

If the Runner encounters the innermost piece of ice multiple times during a Spear Phishing run (e.g. through Cell Portal or The Twins), do they bypass it each time?

Yes.

SYN AttackEdit

Can the Corp choose to discard 2 cards if they have 1 or fewer cards in HQ?

No, in that case they must choose to draw 4 cards.

MammonEdit

If the Runner uses Dr. Lovegood to blank the text of Mammon for the remainder of the turn, does Mammon still lose all of its power counters?

No. When the Runner’s turn begins, they can trigger Mammon’s ability first to put power counters on it, then trigger Dr. Lovegood’s ability to blank Mammon’s text box. It is still the Runner’s turn when “turn ends” abilities meet their trigger condition, so Mammon’s text box will still be blank, and the ability that removes the counters won’t meet its trigger condition.

CharlatanEdit

Can the Runner use Charlatan to bypass a piece of ice after the Corp rezzes it?

No. “When approached” abilities meet their trigger condition at step 2 of a run when the approach begins, but the Corp does not rez approached ice until step 2.3 of the run. Charlatan’s ability creates a conditional ability that only meets its trigger condition the first time the runner approaches an already rezzed piece of ice.

Maxwell JamesEdit

When can the Runner use the ability on Maxwell James?

Maxwell James can be used in any paid ability window during the same turn in which the Runner has made a successful run on HQ. Interpret the card as if it said "Use this ability only if you made a successful run on HQ during this turn."

Designer's Note: Errata for this card will be issued in the next FAQ.

Ayla "Bios" Rahim: Simulant SpecialistEdit

When exactly does the Runner set up NVRAM for Ayla “Bios” Rahim, and how does the ability interact with taking a mulligan?

The Runner should set up NVRAM after revealing IDs and shuffling their deck, before drawing any cards. After setting aside NVRAM and shuffling again, the Runner draws a starting hand. If the Runner chooses to take a mulligan, NVRAM is not affected in any way as those cards are no longer in the deck.

Can the Runner trash cards in NVRAM to use Endless Hunger?

No. Cards in NVRAM are not installed.

Deep Data MiningEdit

If the Runner has 4 unused MU when they play Deep Data Mining, do they access 4 cards or 5 cards from R&D?

The Runner accesses 5 cards. “Up to” limits the number of additional accesses the Runner can get, not the total number of accesses.

SavantEdit

Can the Runner use Savant to break 1 code gate subroutine?

Yes. Because the ability does not say "if able", it will resolve as much as possible when used.

DhegdheerEdit

Dhegdheer's middle ability is worded like a conditional ability that triggers after the install action. Does Dhegdheer actually reduce the cost to install programs on it?

Yes. Interpret the text as if it read "Lower the install cost of programs you install on Dhegdheer by 1."

Designer's Note: Errata for this card will be issued in the next FAQ.

Levy Advanced Research LabEdit

If Levy Advanced Research Lab reveals a program, can the Runner add a non-program from among the revealed cards to the grip?

No.

If Levy Advanced Research Lab does not reveal any programs, or if the Runner chooses not to take any revealed programs, do the revealed cards still get added to the bottom of the stack?

Yes.

Dean ListerEdit

When does the ability from Dean Lister expire if activated outside of a run?

It expires immediately just like an icebreaker boosting its own strength.

Is the strength increase from Dean Lister locked in at the moment the ability resolves, or does it track the number of cards in the Runner’s grip?

The latter. Dean Lister confers “+1 strength for each card in your grip” to the icebreaker until the end of the run.

Biometric SpoofingEdit

Can the Runner use Biometric Spoofing to prevent 1 damage?

Yes. Because the ability does not say "if able", it will resolve as much as possible when used.

The Shadow NetEdit

Can the Runner use The Shadow Net to play a priority event?

No. The first click woould have been spent to use The Shadow Net instead of on playing the priority event.

Brain RewiringEdit

What is randomized by Brain Rewiring? Which cards are selected from the grip, or the order they are put on the bottom of the stack?

Both.

Estelle MoonEdit

If Estelle Moon has 3 power counters, does the Corp draw 1 card and gain 6 or draw 3 cards and gain 6?

The latter.

Marilyn CampaignEdit

If Marilyn Campaign is installed but unrezzed, can the Corp still shuffle it into R&D when it is trashed?

No. The abilities on a card are only active while the card itself is active. The phrase "while installed" is just a reminder and does not functionally change the ability.

Executive FunctioningEdit

Does the trace for the subroutine on Executive Functioning need to be successful to do the brain damage?

Yes. Interpret the text as if it said "If successful".

Designer's Note: Errata for this card will be issued in the next FAQ.

HolmegaardEdit

Does the trace for the subroutine on Holmegaard need to be successful to stop the Runner from accessing cards?

Yes. Interpret the text as if it said "If successful".

Designer's Note: Errata for this card will be issued in the next FAQ.

If the subroutine on Holmegaard resolves, can the Runner still use an access replacement effect like Security Testing?

No. The Runner cannot access any cards, so the access cannot be replaced with anything.

Black Level ClearanceEdit

Does the Corp gain the bonuses from Black Level Clearance if the Runner jacks out before Black Level Clearance allows the Runner to?

No. The latter part of the ability is conditional on the first part.

If the Runner jacks out with Black Level Clearance, does the Runner take a tag from John Masanori?

No. The run has already been declared successful, so it does not become unsuccessful.

What happens if the Corp has two Black Level Clearances installed in the same server?

Both copies of Black Level Clearance meet their trigger conditions simultaneously, and the Corp chooses the order in which they trigger one at a time. When the first one resolves, either the Runner jacks out or takes a brain damage. If the Runner jacks out, the Corp gains 5, draws a card, and trashes that copy of Black Level Clearance, but as the run has ended before the other copy of Black Level Clearance triggers, the second one fails to resolve. If the Runner takes a brain damage from the first Black Level Clearance, then the second one triggers and resolves as normal.

Skorpios Defense Systems: Persuasive PowerEdit

If Employee Strike is active when either an agenda is scored or another current is played, can Skorpios Defense Systems remove it from the game?

No. Employee Strike is active until it is trashed, so Skorpios doesn’t have its ability in time to see the trigger condition being met.

If the Runner trashes multiple cards at once, such as through damage from Scorched Earth or through MaxX's ability, does the Corp have to choose one at a time which card to remove from the game as damage is picked?

Skorpios meets its trigger condition once for each card trashed simultaneously after they have all been picked, so the Corp can choose any of the cards that were trashed to remove from the game.

If an I've Had Worse is trashed to damage while the Corp is playing Skorpios Defense Systems, does the Runner get to draw 3 cards before I’ve Had Worse can be removed from the game?

Yes.

Can Skorpios Defense Systems remove an event from the game after the Runner plays and resolves it?

Yes.

If the Runner plays a run event like Account Siphon, when would Skorpios Defense Systems trigger?

An event that initiates a run is not considered fully resolved until the run completes, and is thus not trashed until afterward. If a Runner card is trashed during the run initiated by Account Siphon, the Corp will have to choose at that moment whether or not to remove that card from the game. If the Corp chooses to use the ability on Skorpios, they will not be able to use it again when the Account Siphon run ends and the event is trashed.

If the Runner uses Scavenge to trash an installed program, can the Corp use Skorpios Defense Systems to remove that program from the game before the Runner can install the same program again?

No. If the Runner chooses to trash a program, the rest of Scavenge resolves immediately. If the program the Runner just trashed is then reinstalled from the heap, it is no longer eligible for the ability on Skorpios.

If the Corp uses Skorpios Defense Systems to remove a Clone Chip from the game when the Runner uses it, does the Runner still get to install a program from their heap or has the cost been prevented?

Yes, the Runner still installs a program from their heap. Skorpios replaces the Clone Chip entering the heap with being removed from the game, it doesn’t replace the trash event; thus, the cost has been paid and the ability triggers.

Armored ServersEdit

Can the Corp use more than one Armored Servers during a run?

Yes. Both add an additional cost to jacking out or breaking subroutines, so the Runner would have to trash 2 cards from their grip whenever they wish to do one of those two things.

If the Runner wants use an ability that breaks multiple subroutines, must they trash a card from their grip for each subroutine that ability would break?

Yes.

If the Runner wants use an ability that breaks multiple subroutines, but declines to pay the additional cost from Armored Servers for some of the subroutines, what happens?

The Runner breaks the subroutines for which they paid the additional cost, and does not break the subroutines for which they didn’t.

Illegal Arms FactoryEdit

Does the Corp take a bad publicity if the Runner trashes an unrezzed Illegal Arms Factory?

No. The ability is not active if Illegal Arms Factory is not active. The phrase "while it is installed" is just a reminder and does not functionally change the ability.

HortumEdit

Designer's Note: This card should say "If Hortum has 3 or more advancement tokens on it." Errata will be issued in the next FAQ.

Can the Runner use Endless Hunger to break the second subroutine on Hortum if it has fewer than 3 advancement tokens on it? If it has 3 or more advancement tokens on it?

The Runner can use Endless Hunger to break the second subroutine on Hortum only while there are fewer than 3 advancement tokens on it.