In the case of Parasite, the Runner is the one trashing the host ice, so s/he suffers damage from Hostile Infrastructure. When the Corporation trashes a card from the top of R&D from Noise's ability or trashes a piece of ice from the Runner playing a Forged Activation Orders, then the Corporation is the one trashing the card and Hostile Infrastructure does not trigger.


I am curious about which of these scenarios would be considered the Runner trashing a card:

Scenario 1:
The Runner has installed a Parasite onto a piece of ice, and the ice is eventually reduced to 0 strength, resulting in Parasite's effect trashing it.

Scenario 2:
The Runner ID of choice is Noise ("Whenever you install a virus program, the Corp trashes the top card of R&D"). The Runner plays a virus, causing the top card of R&D to be trashed.

Scenario 3:
The Runner plays Forged Activation Orders on an ice that the Corp could legally rez, but the Corp player declines to rez it, trashing it instead.

Scenario 4:
The Runner plays Forged Activation Orders on an ice that the Corp cannot legally rez, thus forcing the Corp to elect to trash it.


Tybb-sly Normally I do not answer rules questions before a card is released, but I will make an exception for draft cards.

1. The Runner’s card trashed the ice, so Hostile Infrastructure triggers.

2, 3 and 4. The Corp is the one trashing the card, so Hostile Infrastructure does not trigger.


If a card effect does not specify which player is trashing the card, then whoever owns the card with the effect is responsible for the trashing. If that player is the Runner, then Hostile Infrastructure triggers.


Posted to Board Game Geek by Tim Meng on June 12, 2014

Ad blocker interference detected!

Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.