It was originally ruled that non-prevent/avoid paid abilities can be used on approach to avoid paying 's toll. It has since been clarified that this does not apply to abilities that break subroutines, but abilities that boost an icebreaker's strength can be used in this way.
The Runner approaches a piece of ICE during a run. The Corp rezzes Tollbooth. The Runner has 3 credits. Can he use or to spend a part of his money so that he doesn't lose it all? What about using the ?
So a cost can be paid even if the effect does nothing, right?
I'd like to clarify one thing though: What about 's ability "Trash: Break any number of AP subroutines."? Or 's "Pay 1 credit: break 1 sentry subroutine"? Can the runner use those when there are no subroutines to break?
- This part of the ruling no longer applies; you cannot break subroutines outside of an encounter with a piece of ice. See Using Icebreakers Outside Encounters.